Everything’s Coming Up Roses (at least in our yard!)…

I spent the evening in the garden again last night…rain was predicted for the next six days, so I felt the need to get rid of as many weeds as possible.  Dad and I hoed and weeded the entire plot.  His hoeing style and mine differ (is there a right way to hoe?).  He wore gloves, I didn’t…I got a blister, he didn’t.  I’m kind of proud of mine…another “battle scar” from the garden (along with the four wicked bug bites I got the other night – still don’t know what bit me, but the bites were UGLY!).

Here’s the photographic update from one of our resident photographers, Anna:

The broad beans are being left alone by whatever's chowing down on my yellow and green beans...

Tiny little broccoli...hoping we get some - everybody loves it!

The bush beans seem to be doing well...

The replanted cabbage is thriving...

The carrots are just coming up...planted them between the pea plants...

 

The replanted Chinese cabbage looks great...

 

One of the biggest green bean plants...

Lettuce...

Gourmet Lettuce Mix...

Mild Greens Mix...

One of the eight Morning Glory plants that are up so far...

Peas are doing amazingly well...starting to send out little viny tendrils...

These are pole beans...

 

These are going to be Purple Brussels Sprouts...surprising that even the plant has a purple tinge...

Rutabaga (I think)...wondering if someone rearranged my popsicle sticks labelling my rows...

These are my Autumn Beauty sunflowers...the whole row came up beautifully...

These are Tat Soi Greens...doing very well...

Uncle David's Dakota Dessert Winter Squash...

Red Kuri Winter Squash...

I’m still waiting for tomatoes…there are a few, but I don’t have any real hopes for them getting big enough to bear fruit…will probably end up buying plants.  Cucumbers are just poking their heads up out of the soil, and pumpkins should be up soon (only planted 3 pumpkin seeds).  No sign of the sweet peas I planted…seed may have been too old.  There are a few beet greens up, and almost no chard.  I haven’t seen the bunching onions I put in either…

I was muddy and sweaty when I came in last night…stripped off my “holy pants” (see this post for an explanation: http://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/getting-down-to-the-nitty-gritty/) and put them in the garbage (after a small ceremony), as I had managed to make a hole on the other side – my finger went right through the worn denim.  I had a bath to get the grit from between my toes, and soak my weary bones…

I slept soundly all night until my alarm at 5:30 a.m. – didn’t even get up to go pee!  I was exhausted.  First stop this morning was the medicine cabinet for ibuprofen…my arthritic hips and feet were protesting.  It felt good though…

3 Comments

Filed under gardening, photos

3 responses to “Everything’s Coming Up Roses (at least in our yard!)…

  1. planejaner

    love to see your garden growing.
    ours is drowning.
    need to build and ark.
    bleh
    jane

    • I went out to check the garden today…something is now eating the morning glories, sunflowers, and has chewed the two cucumber plants that were just coming up down to the ground. The beans continued to be nibbled too…

      I put some more cucumber seeds in the same hills, and replanted the pumpkins, which hadn’t made an appearance.

      Not much hope for heirloom tomatoes…think I’ll have to buy plants…

      Sorry to hear about your rain…we’ve been very dry…river is at normal August level. Hopefully the rain we’re supposed to get over the next few days will help.

      Looking forward to your post…

      Wendy

  2. Correction: squash photos mislabelled – first one is “Red Kuri” and the second one is “Uncle David’s Dakota Dessert.” I had a CRAFT (can’t remember a friggin’ thing) moment when I was putting them up…

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

