Two Thanksgivings, A Quarantine, A Helicopter Attack, and A Giant Pumpkin…

So, this was our Thanksgiving weekend…it was a busy one.  On Sunday night, we went to Jim’s parents for a combination Thanksgiving/birthday dinner for Jim’s son, Devin.  He turned 17 on October 4th.

The Birthday Boy...

We had a lovely meal: turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, rolls, green beans, gravy, cucumber/tomato slices, and a delicious turnip puff that Jim’s sister, Kim, made.  I had two helpings!

Unfortunately, Jim’s dad only joined us for a few minutes, sitting way over in the corner by himself…he was suffering from a bad cold, and didn’t want to give it to anyone.  He had spent the past few days in the basement.  Kim’s husband, Chris, pointed out that Gordon couldn’t have been suffering too much…he had the big screen TV, computer, and a fridge nearby.  Gordon came up to watch Devin open his presents: he got some clothes, lots of money, and a remote control helicopter that Jim bought for him.  It was fun watching it fly around, although it didn’t fly very high on the first night…it wasn’t fully charged.

Dessert was yummy…my blueberry pie, Jim’s mom’s pumpkin cheesecake, and purchased carrot cake for the birthday boy, who doesn’t like chocolate.   Jim’s sister, Tracy, had to wait for a minute to bring Devin’s cake out…Jim wasn’t ready with his camera…

Kim invited us to her Halloween party: “Everybody has to wear a costume!”  I have no idea what I’m going to be.  Halloween isn’t my favourite holiday…Jim the smartass suggested I go as a “party pooper.”

We got home just in time for Amazing Race.  I was so happy it turned out to be a non-elimination leg…I like Kevin and his dad!

I woke up Monday morning feeling like a dump truck had driven over me several times…my cold was back!  Jim didn’t feel much better.  I dragged my butt out of bed, made a bagel and tea for breakfast, and started getting the stuffing made for the turkey.  Kaylee, Scott and Elise were coming over for Thanksgiving dinner.

I got the turkey into the oven by noon…then I went out to the garden to harvest some vegetables for dinner.  I got a couple of Red Kuri squash, some beets, three rutabagas, and some mutant-looking carrots (average 4″ long, but fat little things).

Carrots, Rutabagas, Squash, Beets from the Garden...

I took a little break and sat down at my computer to check e-mail and Facebook.  Jim and the kids were playing with Devin’s birthday present again.  It went really high – almost up to the ceiling!  I was sitting there minding my own business when I felt a breeze over my head…a couple of seconds later, there was a helicopter entangled in my hair!

The Killer Helicopter...

Jim swears it was an accident: “It just lost power!”   I think he was secretly getting revenge for the times I injured him earlier in the week…an elbow to the nose (“It hurt for two days!”), and a whack to the temple with a snow brush handle (we were cleaning out the car, and he asked me to hand it to him so he could put it in the trunk).   I apologized profusely, both times, but warned Jim that there probably would be a third time…these things always happen in threes!

It took a few minutes to free my hair from the vehicle nesting in it.  It was at that point I decided it would be a good idea to have a shower.

Devin and Brianna went to their mom’s house for their second Thanksgiving dinner of the weekend.

Kaylee and family arrived about 4.  Elise is now taking a few steps on her own, and asking what everything is.  I didn’t have much time to spend with her though, because I was busy cooking (and also didn’t want to reinfect her with another cold). 

Kaylee wanted some pictures of Elise with a pumpkin, so everybody trooped outside, leaving me in the kitchen with the food.  Jim took the photos below:

Elise and the Pumpkin...

"Let's see how it tastes..."

"Yummy!"

Apparently, Elise couldn’t wait for supper.  She also sampled some fall leaves…I let her take the pumpkin home, since she’d already licked it!

Our Thanksgiving dinner was also delicious, if I do say so myself!  In addition to the turkey, stuffing, and vegetables from the garden, we had whipped potatoes, broccoli, and corn.  Jim made his Grammy’s dressing (which Hope loves), gravy, and a sauce for the beets.

Elise was falling asleep, so Kaylee and Scott left before dessert…I sent them home with a blueberry pie.  The rest of us ate pumpkin pie…it was yummy!  Devin and Brianna made it home just in time!

Jim and I packed the leftover food into lunch containers…Jim is planning a turkey stew for his night to cook…looking forward to it!

24 Comments

Filed under cooking, family, food, gardening

24 responses to “Two Thanksgivings, A Quarantine, A Helicopter Attack, and A Giant Pumpkin…

  1. I love how you write, Wendy – I so enjoyed your Thanksgiving Weekend with you! Such delicious food, and Elise is just tooooo cute – gorgeous photos!
    Sunshine xx

  2. Happy birthday to Devin. Glad to hear the Thanksgving festivities were festival and fun and tasty. And the pictures of Elise and the pumpkin are simply too precious!

  3. I love the pictures of Elise with the pumpkin! She’s sitting there, all cute, then the tongue pops out, and then she licks! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Sounds like a great Thanksgiving to me! Those photos of Elise are so sweet…. very precious. =)

  5. Happy belated Thanksgiving and hope you are feeling better soon!

    Maybe Jim was trying to be helpful. From what I hear, every party needs a pooper. On second thought, you don’t seem like the party pooper type to me!

    Last, but certainly not least, love the pumpkin pictures and the cutie pie in the pumpkin patch:)

  6. Aside from the surprise helicopter incident and feeling under the weather it sounds like you had a great time. Throw down some Buckley’s and you’ll be good to go in no time. ;)

    BTW those pictures of Elise with the pumpkin are precious. She’s such a cutie.

  7. That’s how it works at our house: losers weepers, lickers keepers.

    E is a doll.

    Chase

  8. I can help with the Halloween costume–it IS my favorite holiday and I have a plethora of outstanding easy costume ideas!

    Nothing better than Thanksgiving left-over’s! Sounds like a lovely holiday!

  9. Sounds like such a lovely celebration of family. And so lovingly shared with all of us!

  10. Happy (Belated) Thanksgiving! Elise officially gets the “Cutest Baby in the Universe” award. Those cheeks!

  11. unabridgedgirl

    Elsie is a cutie! She reminds me of my niece. :)

Leave a Reply

