“Rain, Rain, Go Away” and Other Random Utterings…

Here is a random collection of things I’ve heard people say this week:

1. “Rain, Rain, Go Away!”  That was me.  I didn’t really say it…I thought it.  It’s been raining since Thursday, and isn’t supposed to stop until next Thursday.  I didn’t go to Book Club on Friday night because of it…driving on the highway at night in heavy rain is dangerous!  As of Sunday morning, we’ve already had about 100 mm, with at least 50 more predicted today.  At least the man with the cows down the road kept them in this weekend to prevent a repeat of this:

Jim took this photo of the cows, and one horse, in October of 2009 after more than 90 mm of rain fell overnight...

2. “Freezer.”  I was sitting at the bookstore on Thursday afternoon, when I heard the front door open, and someone come in.  He walked into the room where my desk is (the bookstore has four rooms), and said, “Freezer,”  just like that.  Freezer??!!  You do know you’re in a bookstore, don’t you, buddy?  It was after I looked out the window and saw his truck that I put two and two together…it had the name of a local used appliance company on the side.  Coming in that morning, we’d noticed a mini-fridge box that our landlord had put out for the garbage…I guessed these guys had come for the old one, and directed them upstairs.

3. “I got my licence!”  That’s what Hope said when we picked her up at school after completing the last week of her Red Cross Babysitting training on Thursday.  She got right to work when we got home making up business cards and flyers, and put an ad on Kijiji. 

4. “I stuck a straw up my nose!”  That was Anna.  She was coming into the bookstore after school on Friday, after waiting for the bus for 20 minutes in the pelting rain.  She tripped coming up the store steps, and managed to stick the straw from her Booster Juice smoothie up her nose…at least she didn’t fall!

5. “I got my report card!”  This was Brianna, as she proudly held the paper out for me to see.   “Geez, only 100% in French?”  I teased.  Bri said she was “basically the teacher’s pet.”  Works for me.

6. “I got the job, I think.”  That was Hope after coming back from an interview with a neighbouring family with a five-year-old autistic boy.  Jim dropped her off, and she called us 20 minutes later to tell us she was finished.  Pretty grown up to have your first job interview at twelve.  The family was looking for someone to babysit the little guy for occasional evenings out, and Professional Development days at school.  Hope is to go over for training next week.  She thought it was neat that both she and the little boy are lactose-intolerant.

7. “I’m on the team!”  Brianna announced this in the car when we picked her and Devin up on Saturday at their mom’s house.  Three girls, three cheerleading teams at three different schools…seven practices a week on four different days.  Bonus: Devin’s on the Tech Crew at his school, which is at least another couple of nights a week.  We may have to install a coffeemaker in the van…

8. “Oh, my giant blue head!”  Will Ferrell as Megamind.  We took the kids to see the movie in 3-D on Saturday afternoon.  We all loved it!  The soundtrack was awesome.   Tina Fey was great as the voice of Roxanne Ritchie.  Nice twist ending too…I like it when a movie isn’t predictable!

Megamind poster...

9. “Does anybody know where the extra meatballs are?”  One of the waitresses at Vito’s said this, as we were eating our meal after the movie.  My first thought was, “Shouldn’t she be looking for them in the kitchen?”  Then it dawned on me that she was standing in front of the computerized cash register.  “Ohhh…she’s trying to find it on the screen,” I thought.

10. “I found your wine!”  Another waitress at Vito’s.  Unfortunately, she wasn’t heading for my table (how do you lose a glass of wine, anyway?).

24 Comments

Filed under family, food

24 responses to ““Rain, Rain, Go Away” and Other Random Utterings…

  1. What a lovely idea for a post! Sounds like an interesting week in your bookstore and your home. Hope you are keeping warm and dry, and may all the nostrils in your household remain straw-free!
    Sunshine xx

  2. Your words are a great snapshop of a week in the life. Like Sunshine said, stay warm and dry.

  3. I don’t miss all that rain. I’m a mountain-desert girl at heart. :)

  4. I love the rain on occasion, but in week long stretches, I go a little stir crazy. That was a wild photo Jim took of the cows and horse.

    Keep your umbrella handy. Hope you get sunshine soon. Diane

  5. Charging for extra meatballs. That’s one of my pet peeves of restaurant eating!

  6. So as parents, we simply transition from chasing them around the house to chasing them around town or even the region? Not what I was looking to hear this morning, although at least at that point the food tossing and “Daddy, wipe me!” should have diminished. But great that your crew is involved and doing what they enjoy.

    I was really turned off by the Mega-Mind previews, but I’ll take your word for it and rent it when it comes out.

    Take care, Wendy.

    • Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, Chase…maybe you should stay away from my “ABC’s of Teenage Girls” post this morning…I know it scared my buddy, Todd! Our gang generally doesn’t toss food, but we still spend a major amount of time cleaning up after them… Glad you came back for a visit, anyway… Wendy

  7. Sounds like a full week, Wendy. So sorry the found wine didn’t end up in front of you. We saw Mega-Mind yesterday and it was great. (As was the popcorn, which is the real reason I take my kids to the movies.)

    I loved this post. Great idea!

    Amy

  8. It’s amazing how one sentence –even a 1/2 sentence can be comprehended by a parent so completely…
    wine can be very tricky–you don’t really lose it-it loses you….
    Fun post!

  9. I love hearing how enterprising Hope is regarding her new business opportunities. It does my heart good knowing there are some kids who can think past the now.

  10. planejaner

    great post, Wendy!
    I love that you are a listener…and a reporter. :)
    jane

  11. Great idea Wendy! You do come up with lovely ones :) This is the first post I’m reading after the holiday break and here’s what I’m saying…”Got you sucker!” That, to the third blood-sucking mosquito that I’ve managed to kill while reading!

    Loved all of them but ‘Freezer.” is my favorite coz it’s so totally random :)

    Hugs, Harsha.

  12. MOM! YOU GUYS WENT TO VITO’S WITHOUT ME?! MY FAVORITE RESTRUANT! :( </3

    FROM
    HOPE

Leave a Reply

