Weird Wednesday…

It’s raining,

It’s pouring,

The bookstore is boring…

I finally did our holiday displays at the store: one of Christmas books, and the other of winter activities…displays are not my favourite thing to do (it’s been three months since I did them…I could have fashioned a small rodent from the dust that came off the display rack!).

Not much going on today (not much good stuff, that is), so I will give you a couple of random things I’ve observed recently:

Canadian Health Magazine...Fall, 2010...

I saw this magazine on the rack in the dental surgeon’s office when I was there yesterday with Anna for her post-surgery followup.  Look at the item to the right of the model’s head: “Pole Dancing for fitness and fun.”  So that’s how those strippers stay so svelte!

A giant inflatable lion...

I saw one of this guy’s siblings filling up the atrium of Market Square (a local shopping complex) yesterday.  Apparently, the theme for this year’s pre-Santa Claus Parade party is Under the Big Top.  Nothing says Christmas like a 30-foot inflatable jungle animal!  I’m thinking of renting a blow-up elephant to decorate our yard…

One final observance: why do people have so much trouble spelling Santa’s last name?  It is “Claus”; no “e” on the end…just cut it off after the “s”!  It’s really not difficult!

Hoping to be in a better mood tomorrow (do you hear that, dear daughters?)…

28 Comments

Filed under rants, satire

28 responses to “Weird Wednesday…

  1. planejaner

    hang in there, sweet Wendy…
    I loved your jingle, at the beginning… :)
    jane

  2. But your little rhyme is wonderful. A rhyme about the day, hour by hour?

  3. Weren’t there lions and elephants in Bethlehem? Or maybe my nativity set was on sale for a reason.

  4. An inflatable elephant wearing a Santa hat would be interesting. You should go for it!

    As far as pole dancing for fitness and fun…I may have to add that to my Birthday Challenge list of new things to try before my 50th birthday…LOL

  5. I was wondering how you were today, Wendy! When are you signing up for the pole dancing? You could come to London and practise on the poles in the tubes! :-)
    Christmas in snowy Canada, with jungle animals? Yes. Right. It’s as bad as robins and snowmen in Africa!
    Sunshine xx

  6. Hippie Cahier

    Sigh. I know it sounds boring to you, but you have one of my dream jobs.

    Everybody knows that Santa is not subordinate, so I suppose that makes him the Main Clause?

  7. This is the time of the year where autumn has run its course and is no longer fun, and we are left in limbo until the snow flies. I don’t know if I’m glad that I’ve got this move to plan for or not, but it sure has made me forget about what the weather’s been doing lately. ;)

  8. Geez…There is no joy in Mudville right now…seems a lot of people are in the dumps. However I bring Good Cheer. . .a solution to airport security!!

    This idea is not mine but I think its terrific. A great alternative to body scanners at airports. Developing an airport security device that will eliminate the privacy concerns that come with full-body scanners at the airports. It’s a booth you can step into that will not X-ray you, but will detonate any explosive device you may have on you. This is a win-win for everyone, with none of this crap about racial profiling. It also would eliminate the costs of a long and expensive trial. Justice would be swift. Case closed. You’re in the airport terminal and you hear a muffled explosion. Shortly thereafter an announcement comes over the PA system, “Attention standby passengers — we now have a seat available on flight number 791…have a good flight!”

    You feel better now right–I mean this could also be considered for say–detecting poor teen attitude…and then deactivating the text messaging feature on cell phones for 24 hours.”

  9. Ugh. I hate it when things are slow. I’d much rather be busy. Hang in there.

  10. Excellent observations. :) And I can’t wait to see pics of the traditional Yuletide Elephant.

    Amy

  11. There’s a family at church with the last name: Claus. They pronounce it CLOWS. They have so much fun this time of year!

    • Ah…Germans like we are! Glad they pronounce it properly: my dad’s original family name, “Schutz”, was changed to “Shoots” some time after the family landed in Pennsylvania in the 1750′s. Thanks for stopping by, Joey! Wendy

  12. What books did you use for the Christmas display Wendy? I think I would like doing displays…only for books of course :-)

    Hope it stops raining!

    Hugs, H.

    • Here’s one of the prettiest ones: http://bit.ly/aQsV2z Others include Dickens’ Christmas Stories, Robert Browning’s Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, William J. Locke’s A Christmas Mystery: The Story of Three Wise Men, a kids’ book by R.E.C. called Harry’s Temptation; or Christmas in Canada, and a newer book on Christmas Traditions in Canada. Wendy

  13. We all have those days from time to time. I’m sure it won’t last long.

  14. I think it’s that movie: Santa Clause or something in which there was indeed a “clause” that stipulate Santa’s needing to find a wife before such and such time?

    LOL.

Leave a Reply

