Simple Things I Am Thankful For…

Today is Thanksgiving in the United States, where I was born and spent the first eight years of my life.  We are not celebrating Thanksgiving in Canada today (we had it last month), but with all the disturbing things going on in the world right now, it makes me think of the things in my life I am thankful for.  Here they are, in the order I’ve thought of them:

1. A Healthy Love Relationship.  I am thankful to have found a man who loves me, works hard, is an amazing father, and would rather cut off his right arm than hurt me or our children.

2. A Loving Family.  We definitely argue, but I don’t know what we would do without each other. 

3. Clean Water.  We can turn on a tap and have an almost unlimited amount of clean water!

4. Clean Air.  The air that we breathe is very clean, and smells good most of the time.   

5. Plentiful, Fresh Food.  We can go to a store and buy nearly anything we need, or grow it ourselves in uncontaminated soil.  We have a refrigerator and a freezer to help keep the food preserved.  We have a stove and a microwave to cook the food. 

6. A Roof Over Our Heads.  I can’t imagine not having a warm, clean place to come home to.

7. Freedom of Movement.  I can go where I want, when I want to, without being afraid. 

8. Freedom of Speech.  I have the right to say, write, read, or listen to almost anything without fear of repercussion (within libel/slander laws).

9. The Right to Vote.  Thanks to some outspoken women who came before me, women in Canada have had the right to vote in federal elections since 1919. 

10. The Ability to Read and Write.  I could not live without books, and writing keeps me sane.  The ability to read allows me to learn new things every day.

11. Government-Sponsored Health Care.  If my child is ill, I can take her to the doctor without worrying about how to afford the treatment.

12. Music.  Good music makes me feel a huge range of emotions…there are so many talented musicians in our world.

Please take a moment to think about all the simple things you are thankful for…

I hope that all my family and friends have a wonderful holiday!  Thank you for taking time from your busy day to visit me in Hammond River!

33 Comments

Filed under books, family, food, friends, music

33 responses to “Simple Things I Am Thankful For…

  1. duke1959

    Your right in what you said. As we grow older I think we really begin to understand its the small things that matter.

  2. duke1959

    I just thought of something. ( I know dangerous).You get to celebrate 2 Thanksgivnings! I really do enjoy your blog so much.

  3. Hi Wendy,
    It’s the simple things that count the most. I haven’t been home in Mass. for Thanksgiving for 30 years. I am missing my husband, sons, grandsons, and mountains but happy to be with my siblings and able to help my mom out.

    I also want a good Sam Adams Winter with that pie!

  4. Thanks for the wonderful list! Happy Thanksgiving Wendy! It is truly the simple things that we appreciate that make each day special and holidays memorable.

  5. duke1959

    These are times that you do think about home. I live over 300 miles from my hometown and there is that yearning to be there today.

  6. I think Thanksgiving is a wonderful celebration – so good to take stock and express gratitude. What a lovely list, Wendy.
    I am thankful for you, I’m glad we have connected in this way, and I hope one day we can meet each other for reals! :-)
    Sunshine xx

  7. Thank you for reminding us of the fundamentals: These are simple things yet if one is without them, it would be a hard struggle.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  8. Hope you had a happy Thanksgiving!

  9. You’ve got a lot to be thankful, Wendy.

    Just wondering: Do Candians watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, too, or do you guys get to watch regular TV?

    • Hi Todd: I do have a lot to be thankful for… Some of my friends watched the Macy’s Parade, but mentioned being disappointed on Facebook (one likened it to a long half-time show). I’m not a parade fan (although I really like the Tournament of Roses parade because it’s so beautiful)! Luckily, we have both American and Canadian channels to choose from! Wendy

  10. I’m thankful that I was introduced to blogging and have met such a lovely group of individuals out here!

    I’m putting that one in since I’m not so certain I’ll be thankful for a roof over my head in a little while…yikes!

  11. That’s an impressive list Wendy. Isn’t it great that when we make lists like these…the material stuff (except for the basics), really doesn’t count? I love that :)

    Living here in Goa, I can say I have a lot of those same freedoms…except for the clean water and uncontaminated soil :( We do have water, but like the rest of India…there’s a huge shortage :(

    Even in Goa, which is very clean compared to the rest of my country…pollution is now a sad reality. Too many tourists, a major influx of migrants and poor infrastructure are huge contributors…my heart bleeds when I see piles of uncollected garbage, plastic bags clinging to shrubs, murky rivers with dead fish and empty bottles, in formerly pristine countryside :(

    There are groups that are working towards educating the public and keeping Goa clean…but most days, it seems like a losing battle!

    Great post!

    Hugs, H.

    • Thanks, Harsha…I’ve been thinking about what’s happening in countries like Haiti and Korea this week, and what happens in other third-world countries every day…we certainly are lucky in Canada and the U.S.! I hope that Goa gets cleaned up…I think a lot of pollution control is about education. I certainly see a generational change here when it comes to littering: when I was young, a lot of my friends wouldn’t think twice about throwing trash on the ground. My children and their friends would probably say something to anybody they saw littering, and force them to pick it up! Wendy

  12. Lovely post! I’m really enjoying all the posts I’m reading today regarding Thanksgiving. The world can be a wonderful place when we take a moment to count our blessings :)

  13. Hippie Cahier

    I’m thankful for writers who say things in such a way that nothing else needs to be said. Like you and this list.

    Thanks, Wendy. Happy Thanksgiving a day late and a country away.

  14. I like your list. I have conflicted feelings about #11 (quality issues), but again, it’s better than nothing. And hey, it’s affordable. Happy (American) Thanksgiving. :D

  15. I’d love to only worry about “quality issues” with #11. Like we don’t have “quality issues” here in the States!

  16. Love your list, Wendy. You’re right–we really should give thanks for all of these things if we’re lucky enough to have them.

    I’m glad you gave music a proper shout-out. Aside from the written word, I think it’s the most accessible form of art there is.

Leave a Reply

