Molasses, Mozzarella, Mountains, and Mom Time…

1. Molasses.  In one of my very first blog posts, I talked about my Grandma Shoots’ yummy molasses cookies.  Hope and I decided to make some yesterday, since it had been quite some time.  Here’s the recipe (I have no idea who “Shirley” is):

Shirley’s Cookies

1 cup molasses

1 cup water

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup melted lard or shortening

4 tsps. baking soda dissolved in 1 cup boiling water

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

10 cups flour

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Using a large mixing bowl, mix all ingredients together and beat gently with a wooden spoon (add flour a cup or two at a time).  Roll out to 1/8″ thickness, and cut with large round cutter (I actually use a plastic tumbler).  Place on cookie sheets, and bake about 10 minutes, until puffy but not hard.  Makes about 6 dozen BIG cookies.  Keep them in the refrigerator.

Working on cookies...Hope threw some flour on my face for extra authenticity...photo by Anna

Molasses Cookies...these are only 3" in diameter...Grandma's were about 5" or 6" across! Soft and awesome...they'll also keep you regular! (photo by Anna)

2. Mozzarella.  I was in the mood to cook last night, but had planned a fairly boring menu of chicken burgers, curly fries, onion rings, and green beans (from the garden).  Then I remembered the fresh mushrooms and mozzarella cheese I had in the fridge, and the huge onions I’d bought at Costco…why not make Philly Cheese Chicken?  I cut the onion into long, thin pieces and sautéed them with the chopped mushrooms in a little bit of butter in a non-stick pan.  Then I laid on slices of processed mozzarella cheese (I would have used real cheese if I hadn’t been pressed for time).  After the cheese melted, I stirred it and spooned the mixture on top of the chicken burgers.  If you try this, make sure you use real chicken burgers (not the breaded ones!).

My lunch today...yummy!

3. Mountains.  We had a little more snow on Friday night…slightly more than a foot.  Weather forecasters had dubbed it the “worst storm of the season”, but I think it failed to live up to their expectations!  I sent Anna out with her camera yesterday to show what kind of snowfall we had:

This is Hope and Jake in our driveway yesterday...photo by Anna

This is Brianna (about 5'4") standing next to a snowbank...photo by Anna

4. Mom Time.  Jim took the girls to see Gnomeo and Juliet this afternoon, giving me a 3-hour break from bickering, pop music, and general hubbub…thanks, Honey!  I am using the time to do laundry; write this post; practice my new addiction game, 4 Elements, on Facebook (I just about cried when I found out Dad had closed my window on the computer this morning when he checked his email…luckily, it remembered where I’d left off at midnight last night…attempt #8 on Level 15…aarggh!); and get ready for Kaylee, Scott and Elise to come over for supper.  I’m making Barbecued Chicken (in the oven – the barbecue is under two feet of snow!), mashed potatoes, corn, and carrots.  The kids are going to be home soon, so I’d better get to cooking!  Happy Sunday!

28 Comments

Filed under cooking, family, food

28 responses to “Molasses, Mozzarella, Mountains, and Mom Time…

  1. duke1959

    Do you make deliveries?

  2. Oh–what a lovely day! I love the super-authentic flour-smudged YOU! :)

    I have a wonderful molasses cookie recipe, too–but on mine, at the last, you roll each piece into a ball and then roll in sugar in the raw–so, it’s chewy and crunchy…I may need to make those…

    I am drooling.
    I want beef. that hamburger looked good–but chicken? NO…I am hankering after some beef….
    (This all could be because for breakfast…I just ate a banana…feeling a bit pudgy these days…alas.)

    the snow is gorgeous…even though I know you are sick of it!
    blessings
    jane

  3. Gosh, I would call that more than a little snow! I think that’s a ton of snow! But, those cookies look wonderful!!!!!!!!!

    Hugs from Haiti,
    Kathy

  4. I’ve got this whole Shirley mystery narrowed down to either Shirley Temple or Shirley Jones. I bet Mrs. Partridge made some sweet molasses. ;-)

  5. Yikes, and here I am ready for SPRING. It was mid-60s today. But no molasses cookies. Sigh.

  6. “Shirley’s Cookies.” That’s great. My grandmother’s cookbook was filled with recipes like that. One recipe, obviously from the late-1960s, early-1970s was called “The Next-Best Thing to Robert Redford.” I can’t remember what it was, but I’ll never forget that name, just as your family will never completely forget Shirley (even if you don’t her last name or anything about her).

  7. Great post and pics–the cookies and lunch look fantastic. But I don’t miss the snow.

  8. I’ll have to try the cookies and the chicken. They both look and sound wonderful. It’s back to the kitchen for me after a week of vacation and no cooking. I started off with a bang today after church. My husband invited his parents over for dinner and I didn’t have any idea what I would find in my refrigerator.

    In the week that we were gone the local grocery store roof collapsed due to the heavy snow. We will be without a grocery store for the next two months. I will actually have to plan my meals and grocery trips. Our next biggest town with a grocery store is 25 miles away.

    • Yikes, Jeanne…sorry about your grocery store! The mall roof in Fredericton collapsed a couple of weeks ago here. Jim was out shovelling our roof off last week. As fun as vacation is, I always find it a relief to get back to my normal routine when I get home… Wendy

  9. The snow looks awesome, Wendy – so beautiful!
    Lovely post, glad you enjoyed your me-time.
    Sunshine xx

  10. Again, you dazzle me with your culinary skills! The cookies look divine! The snow is beautiful, but I am so over winter and cold…we had a gorgeous 70 degree F and sunny weekend in Atlanta. Glad you got a few hours to yourself. Hugs, Diane

  11. jacquelincangro

    I know that’s a lot of shoveling so I don’t envy you that, but it sure is pretty as a postcard!
    Those cookies look delicious…molasses is one of my favorites. The recipies I’ve seen call for nutmeg, but why mess with perfection? I’m going to give yours a go.
    Sounds like you had a great weekend. Hope you have a great week too!

  12. Lori Shoots

    Im Steves wife Lori I read all your posts! I only met gma shoots a few times but love to hear Bob and Steve talk about her. After your post about the cookies my husband said he would love to have some. So I surprised him yesterday. He said they were pretty close . Thanks for sharing.

    • Glad you had good luck with the cookies, Lori…of course, if they were like Grandma Shoots’, they would have had to be 5 or 6 inches across, and half an inch thick…she used to stack them up in the old round cardboard Quaker Oats container, and keep them in the fridge. One of those was a meal!!! Love, Wendy

  13. Wonderful pictures Wendy! Especially the snow :) Anna has great talent! Those cookies look just right for a snowy day with some hot chocolate, and melted cheese on anything is always good in my opinion!

    Mom-time…sounds like heaven :) Which reminds me, have been meaning to befriend you on Facebook. How do I look for you?

    Hugs, H.

  14. Wow those cookies look so tasty! Beautiful landscape pictures…your daughter looks so pretty! Glad you had some alone time…!

    • Thanks, Katybeth…packed the last of the cookies in Jim’s and my lunches today! I’ll pass your kind words on to Anna (the photographer) and Brianna (the model)…

      Hugs,
      Wendy

Leave a Reply

