I Was Stylish Three Times in Three Weeks!

Or at least other people thought my blog was…I have received this award three times recently:

I was given the first one by Nancy at Embracing Myself on February 17th.  Then Todd at Todd Pack’s Messy Desk gave me the nod on February 28th.  Finally, Ian from The $#!& I Think About awarded me again on March 8th.  All of these folks are talented writers, and I am pleased to also call them my friends!  Please check out their blogs!

One of the requirements of the awards is to tell some stuff about yourself that people don’t know…that’s a tall order for me, because I probably share way too much in my blog as it is!  So, that’s been one of the things holding me up in officially “accepting” my awards!  The other barrier has been that I’ve gotten a lot of awards (not bragging…just stating a fact…well, maybe bragging a little!), and I’ve run out of people to pass them on to!

I visited a new blogging buddy’s site today after she commented on mine…Melissa at Play 101  had also been a triple winner of the Stylish Blogger Award.  Some thoughtful soul had provided her with questions to answer about herself, so I’m stealing borrowing the questions…I hope Melissa doesn’t mind:

1. How long have you been in your current relationship, and how many children do you have?  Jim and I are coming up on three years together…between the two of us, we have five kids (4 girls and one boy) and one granddaughter.

2. What is one thing most people don’t know about you?  That I’m not as big a “Goody Two Shoes” as I appear.  I’ve never broken any laws (that I know of), but I swear a lot (not in public usually). 

3. What are your greatest fears?  Running out of things: time, money, food, love.

4. What is your favorite food?  Sour cream and bacon Ruffles potato chips.  And bagels.  And pie (any kind except cream pies).

5. What is your most rewarding memory?  I’d like to say the births of my three daughters, but that hurt a lot (I did it naturally).  I think that some of my happiest memories are of doing things together as a family: eating, playing board games, making music, or outdoor activities.

6. At which store could you spend an entire day by yourself?  I really don’t enjoy shopping, but if I had to be in a store all day without kids, I’d definitely pick an old bookstore.

7. What’s the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done?  Tough one…so many choices!  There was the time I walked around the mall in Newfoundland with my fly down for an hour-and-a-half before discovering it (no one told me!).  Once, I accidentally got on the Super Express bus to Toronto from Ottawa, and found out just before getting to Belleville that the bus didn’t stop there…luckily, the driver took pity on me and let me off at the exit ramp…I picked up my suitcase and walked into town!  One of my favourite activities is dancing when my teenagers have friends over…it’s worth it just to see the looks on their faces!   

8. What’s the worst job you’ve ever had?  I once took a temp job doing data entry for a non-profit organization’s fundraising event.  The hours were 4 p.m. to 11 p.m., so I spent all but half an hour of my shift by myself, and the work was boring!  I also found it difficult to get up with my daughter in the morning and take her to school…I always needed a nap after dropping her off!

9. What’s the worst thing you’ve ever worn?  I made myself an absolutely hideous maternity dress when I was pregnant with my first child…the style and fabric were both ugly…I don’t know what I was thinking!  Thankfully, no photos exist of that one!     

10. What’s your favorite guilty pleasure? I read Cosmopolitan at the hairdresser’s.  Please refer back to #2!

Instead of passing the award on in the traditional fashion, I’m going to steal borrow another idea from my friend Kathy at Reinventing the Event Horizon: she suggested that readers respond in the comments with a post of their own that they’re really happy with, and a post of someone else’s that they recommend reading.  So here’s an early one of mine that not many people saw: http://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/pickin-and-grinnin/.  My friend, Amanda, at Life is a Spectrum, wrote this heartwarming story about her son: http://www.lifeisaspectrum.com/The-long-distance-runner

Please read, enjoy, and tell us about your favourite posts in your comments!  That’s one of the best parts about blogging for me: hooking up my friends with great blogs to read!

48 Comments

Filed under blogging, family, food, friends

48 responses to “I Was Stylish Three Times in Three Weeks!

  1. I don’t know, Wendy. I might not describe you as “Goody Two Shoes,” but you really do radiate love and positive energy. And that’s a real plus in my book. Congrats on the well-deserved awards.

  2. Congrats, you stylish woman! Well deserved:) Too bad there are no photos of your maternity wear…blame it on the hormones:) Have a blessed weekend. Diane

    • Thanks, Diane! I think there might be a photo somewhere of my ex-husband wearing the ugly dress as a Halloween costume…there might be bloodshed if I posted it! Hugs, Wendy

  3. Sweet! I can relate to your greatest fears.
    blessings, and have a great weekend.
    jane

  4. Congratulations…again, Wendy!! :)

  5. Oooo! I secretly read Cosmo, too, while in line at the grocery store. I never get to read the articles, but the headlines are just fantastic. It’s always, “Find his pleasure zones.” And “How sexy are you? Take this quiz.” How can you NOT love that? The educational opportunities are unstoppable.

    Fun post, Wendy. You truly are stylish. See you at New York Fashion Week!

    • Thank you for your kind words, Maura! Funny that you see Cosmo at the grocery store…I can’t read it there because the kids are usually with me! Unless they have a “jeans and T-shirt” category in New York, I probably won’t make it! Wendy

  6. Congratulations, Wendy – you are one stylish blogger, for sure! Thanks for sharing some more snippets about yourself. You’re lovely and kind – I don’t think I’ve thought of you as a goodie two shoes!
    Sunshine xx

  7. You are three times more stylish than me! You gave me the award and I am forever greatful. Even if you do read Cosmo. ;-)

  8. I will often flip through the latest In Style magazine while I’m getting my hair cut. It’s a bit masochistic, because I always end up feeling fatter and substandard in my appearance. But I still pick it up two months later. At least, I leave with good hair.

    • I haven’t been to the hairdresser for four months, Leanne…I have an appointment Tuesday…can’t wait! I’m having Cosmo withdrawal (and my grey roots are almost half the length of my hair!). You’ve got great hair! Wendy

  9. I read those celebrity smut magazines when they’re about in waiting rooms. I’m ashamed of myself!

  10. Hi Wendy — you didn’t “steal” the questions — they come with the Award! And are so worth it. I loved reading your answers, and seeing that you enjoy board games and outdoor activities with your children. Sounds like a great family. And you too on the data entry? That has got to be one of the lonliest jobs on the planet.

    • Thanks, Melissa, for letting me borrow the questions, at least! I was running out of things that I hadn’t already “shared” with my readers! I hope never to have to do data entry again! Wendy

  11. Jess Witkins

    Congrats on the award! I’ll be checking out the other bloggers for sure! I’d be happy to share a bag of ruffles chips with you, but at your own suggestion, would probably not hire you to make me any clothes. No offense. :)

  12. I too keep winning that “award.” And I too am VERY afraid of running out of things! Sara says I’m a hoarder–who knows.
    Hugs from Haiti,
    Kathy

    • Congrats to you again, Kathy on your awards! We bloggers have good taste in writers! So far, nobody’s offered up their favourite posts though…maybe I should repost that part in my next post! I think my fear of running out of things comes from growing up without a lot of money…my mom always worried about the same thing! Hugs, Wendy

  13. Congratulations! I can see why you’ve been honored.

  14. Fabulous and very well-deserved, congratulations! :)

  15. Well-deserved, Wendy! Congrats!

    Love #9! I, too, decided to fashion my own maternity wear with my first son. The material looked like upholstery, so I pretty much looked like an over-stuffed armchair. I also created Christmas ornaments out of the same fabric. Why I felt a need to match the Christmas tree is a mystery to me. I like to blame it on my child, stealing brain cells as he grew over the nine months.

    I have so much catching up to do with blogs again! Hope to read more of yours soon.

    AA

    • Glad you’re back, AA! It sounds like we got our fabric in the same store…mine looked like living room drape material! You’ve missed some fun posts the last little while! Wendy

  16. My friend Alexis has started blogging again…she went back to teaching this year at an alternative school and took a brief hiatus. I love how she writes and shares her classroom with readers.
    http://www.takingthelidoffthesun.com/2011/03/imagination-and-neighborhood-secret.html

    Congrats on being stylish!

  17. I hate trying to answer the question “What’s your most embarrassing moment,” not because I get easily embarrassed but because I can never think of a great moment to share. I am envious of your bus story, big time.

    Here’s where I wrote about getting caught by the repairman with my underboob sweat. I guess that could be a li’l embarrasing. :P http://tamaraoutloud.wordpress.com/2010/04/22/in-which-the-author-shakes-what-her-mama-gave-her/

  18. Congratulations Wendy!! Very well deserved :) I love your answers and must assure you that the ‘Goody Two Shoes’ image is entirely in your head or in your shoe closet ;-) When I read Ruffles chips…I did the Happy dance :D You don’t get them here, so have to make do with poor substitutes :P

    Here is a recent post that I enjoyed. It was just the thing I needed to brighten up my day! http://youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/fly-air-hook-non-stop-flights-leaving-daily/
    And here is one of mine from a while ago that I like http://youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/fly-air-hook-non-stop-flights-leaving-daily/

    Sorry for the delay in commenting these days…am doing a major revamp of the Blog!

    Hugs, H.

  19. Wow again! I loved when I got it ( from you I might add) but I wouldn’t be able to muster enough oompf! to do it again. But you are always up to the task which is why you are so stylish and classy.

Leave a Reply

