Nom, Nom…Thank You, Mom!

We pretty much ate our way through the weekend due to birthday celebrations and Mother’s Day…hence the title…

Saturday was Brianna’s 15th birthday…we were invited to Jim’s parents’ house for a combo birthday party for Bri and Jim’s brother-in-law, Chris, whose birthday is May 12th.  Jim’s mom made a delicious ham with scalloped potatoes, vegetables, and broccoli salad (one of my favourites!).  For dessert, we had two cakes: ice cream cake for Bri and chocolate cake for Chris.

Brianna and Grammy...photo by Jim

Brianna and Uncle Chris showing off their birthday presents...photo by Jim

Bri was happy with the underwater digital camera Jim got her…Anna, Hope and I got her a pair of snazzy rubber boots for when the kids go looking for frogs at the pond, and some cash to buy more clothes (because I need more challenge when I’m folding and sorting laundry – I don’t ask “Whose is this?” quite often enough!).

Sunday was Mother’s Day, of course, but also Jim’s and my third anniversary.  It’s lucky that we’d gone out to dinner a couple of weeks ago in anticipation of our special day being overshadowed by other activities…we were so busy on Sunday, we hardly saw each other!  I’m incredibly happy that our online dating experience turned out to be a success story…Plenty of Fish…you rock!

All four kids brought me breakfast in bed (even Devin, who rarely gets up before noon on weekends…he poked his hand out from under his blanket wrapped tightly around him, and presented me with my silverware).  There were cards and presents too, including my garden stone from last year, which had gotten broken and been epoxied back together.

Mom French Toast made with 12-grain bread...

Anna and I had arranged that Jim would get Bri out of the house in the afternoon so that we could make her a birthday cake.  Hope wanted to help too, but Anna wouldn’t let her.  I told Hope she could decorate a Mother’s Day cake for Kaylee, who was coming over for supper with Scott and Elise.  Jim took Bri and Devin to see the new Thor movie…while they were gone, we made these:

Anna's cake for Brianna...Kerri (the cranky judge from Cake Challenge) would not have been happy with the fondant, but it tasted good!

Hope's cake for Kaylee...the icing was mauve, and a little odd (I don't know what Anna did to it!)...tough to work with...

Kaylee, Scott and Elise arrived just as the girls were finishing the cake decorating.  I was washing the huge pile of pots and pans that had accumulated on the counter and in the sink.  Jim, Bri and Devin returned home shortly after that.  Jim and the kids got right to work making supper: lasagna, fusilli, caesar salad, and garlic bread.  It was nice to have time to just play with my granddaughter (and hard not to interfere with what was going on in the kitchen!).

Elise fist-bumping Auntie Bri...Bri took the photo with her new camera...

Kaylee and Scott got me a HUGE pizza stone for Mother’s Day (we may have to build on another room to store it!).  I can’t wait to try it out…I hope my pizza will turn out as well as Kaylee’s does!

Supper was delicious (Thanks, hon!), although Elise decided that throwing fusilli on the floor for Jake was more fun than eating it!  After licking ten spaghetti sauce covered plates, Jake needs a bath…his beard is a lovely shade of orange now.

Elise sharing her Cheerios with Jake...it's the only time he really likes her...

When we’d finished eating, I showed Kaylee my seedlings, and then sent her out to the yard to gather some rhubarb to take home…it’s just starting now, but when she comes back in two weeks, it will be huge!  Here are some fiddleheads Jim gathered down by the river last week (fiddleheads are ferns that grow in swampy areas…delicious cooked with lots of butter):

Fiddleheads fresh from the riverbank...

After Kaylee and Scott left, we loaded the dishwasher and sat down to play our highly-addictive computer games relax for a while.  Then we watched the two-hour finale of Amazing Race…I was happy with the winners, although I liked all the remaining teams and would have been fine with any of them winning.  I’m looking forward to the premiere of my other favourite reality show, So You Think You Can Dance, in a couple weeks!

Happy Mother’s Day to all my Mom blogging buddies…hope you had a fun day!

49 Comments

Filed under cooking, family, food

49 responses to “Nom, Nom…Thank You, Mom!

  1. Nice weekend! We also had a b-day / Mothers Day combo. I also saw Thor, but I did not make any baked goods. However, I prepared delectable hibachi shrimp for the fam, so I get a few good son/brother points.

  2. Well, happy anniversary, in addition to happy FP-ed! You are amazing, Wendy!
    Hugs to you,
    Kathy

  3. I am jealous of your french toast. Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. What a great weekend you had! Happy Anniversary and many many congrats on another well-deserved Fresh Pressed! You superstar, you.

  5. The birthday cakes sure look purty and tasty! What a full weekend you enjoyed! -Happy anniversary! Happy Mothers day and Happy Birth day.

  6. Thanks, Katybeth…the cakes were really good (all four of them)!

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too!

    Hugs,
    Wendy

  7. A weekend packed full of wonderfulness! May you bask in the afterglow all week long.

  8. French toast looks AMAZING! Yum! Happy belated momma’s day to you!

    On another note, how long have you had the floral background? I adore it! Either I haven’t been here for awhile or am just not as observant as I like to admit.

    Speaking of unobservant, it’s like 20 minutes into my lunch break and I didn’t even realize it! Off to eat!

    • Thanks, Suzanne! The French toast was good… Glad you like the background…sorry to tell you that I’ve had it for several months! It’s from a William Morris wallpaper design from the late 1800′s. Wendy

  9. I read your posts and get hungry.

    What a great weekend! And happy anniversary. Have you ever blogged about how you met? I’m a sap for those stories. Sigh.

  10. Awesome mom toast and post :)

    ‘Course my nerd alert immediately buzzed wondering exactly which games were played..

    • Thanks, Wazeau…Jim was playing Portal (I think) and Cityville. I was playing Wordscraper, Lexulous, Scrabble, Bejewelled Blitz, Bomboozled and LottoRace (thank you, dear Kaylee, for getting me hooked on that one!). Wendy

  11. Sounds like a great day! Glad eveyone had so much fun.

  12. Wendy, Happy Belated Mother’s Day – looks like a great one! Also, so proud of you and 3rd FP – you rock xo iz

  13. jacquelincangro

    Those fiddleheads look delicious. I’ve only had them once at a restaurant and really enjoyed them. I bet they are even more wonderful when they’re that fresh. I’ve seen them in the store, but was a little intimidated to buy them. I don’t know how to prepare them.

    Love the shot of Elise feeding Jake. My nephew does that too.

    Glad you had a lovely Mother’s Day, Wendy.

    • I just cook the fiddleheads in the microwave for a few minutes after washing them, Jacquelin…some people here sprinkle vinegar on them after cooking, but I prefer butter. Jake tolerates Elise only when she’s “sharing”…he’s a jealous little suck! Wendy

  14. Hi Wendy,
    Happy Mother’s Day again… and Happy Anniversary! And Happy Birthday to your daughter.
    I never thought about it, but I guess it’s pretty nice that I have a son and a daughter, as it makes laundry sorting so much easier! :)
    Melissa

  15. Well Happy Mother’s Day back at ya. Curt has a question… are the fiddleheads from a specific fern or will any fern do. I guess he wonders if you have to be choosey like with mushrooms?

    • Here’s a link to the fiddlehead article on Wikipedia, Jeanne…not sure if there would be any suitable plants in your neck of the woods or not…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiddlehead_fern You might be able to find them frozen somewhere… Fiddleheads are very healthy, but the window for harvesting them is small…they must be picked when the heads are still tightly closed. Wendy

  16. Sounds lovely! You have a lot of bakers/chefs in your family.

    Mother’s Day is my absolute favorite day of the year. All I ask for (and get) is to have one guilt-free day to do what I please (which was plop on the couch and read for 10 hours) while other people feed me. Yes, I was very lazy.

  17. What an awesome Mother’s Day/anniversary/multi-birthday weekend!! It sounds really wonderful — of course, I’m happy if I have ONE opportunity for cake :-)

  18. Wow, I am inspired – but somehow my creations in the kitchen don’t turn out so well! I doubt they would end up as great as yours look in these pics. Is it practice? Trial and error? Both? LOL I need help!

    • Cooking/baking is pretty much practice, botut…Anna has a lot of artistic talent, so that definitely made her cake look good (and we watch cake decorating shows on Food Network…a LOT!). I’ve been cooking and baking for 40 years, so it’s pretty much second nature to me! If you have an older friend or relative who’s good in the kitchen, why not ask them to give you some hands-on instruction? I find the process of preparing food fun, although I don’t enjoy cleaning up afterward! Wendy

  19. Glad to see Elise knows the fist bump. You can never teach them too early.

    • That was Elise’s dad who taught her that, Paul…an important life skill to be sure! Wendy

      • Tru dat!

        Happy Anniversary/Mothers day, Wendy! Did you get Freshly Pressed? Imissed all of the excitement while putting my garden in for several days. :cry:

      • I was FP’d for my “Ten Commandments of Book Sales” post from Saturday, Spectra… I’m jealous that you’ve already got your garden in…mine is still seedlings on a table in my back kitchen! My landlord has promised to come soon and plow up our space…thinking of asking him to go down another six feet in the yard so we’ll have more room! It should be warm enough to plant in another couple weeks…can’t wait! Wendy

  20. Love that french toast. I got a message from my son Josh in a photo he posted on Facebook from Australia. He wrote Happy Mum’s Day in the sand on a beach.

  21. Love the French toast…is it on a Delft plate? Just wondering. Congratulations on all the attention you got from family on Mother’s Day and from friends on FP. Happy May!

  22. I have to agree with the others: I love that French toast, too. And I’d really be interested to read about your experience with online dating. It obviously worked out for you. Nice post, Wendy.

  23. Mmmm, fiddleheads. Only time I ever got tired of fiddleheads was the week I spent picking them in BC. I like them fried with a little bacon fat myself. Not the healthiest of culinary decisions I’ll admit – but dang they do taste good.

    • What a great idea, Steve…I’ve never tried fiddleheads fried! And I didn’t know they had them in BC…I thought they were just a Maritime thing… Thanks for visiting! Wendy

  24. Great you had a Happy Mother’s Day :) That french toast is so sweet! I didn’t know there were edible ferns! And forgive my ignorance but what is a Pizza stone?

    Hugs, H.

    • Thanks, Harsha! A pizza stone is a round flat piece of pottery (I think) that you bake pizza on…mine has a metal rack with handles to take it in and out of the oven, because the stone gets very hot during baking! I was actually thinking about making some homemade pizza tonight…I have some feta cheese in the fridge, and some spinach in the freezer…yum! Hugs, Wendy

Leave a Reply

