Blossoms, Babies, Bell-Ringers, Breakfast, and BBQ…NEW POST!

This is going to be another roundup post of some of the things that have happened this past week…I’m home on my first day off in six days, trying to catch up on laundry and cleaning up around the house.

1. Blossoms.  Summer has finally come to Hammond River, after a May in which it rained almost every day.  I was happy to see our tiny rhododendron bush is finally blooming:

Rhododendron Blossom...

A few days later, the blossom was open:

Open Rhododendrons...

Our wild rose bush was also blooming:

Wild Rose...

2. Babies.  Remember the baby groundhog I was talking about seeing, and the sixteen cauliflower plants Jim brought home from Superstore last week?  Well, the critter has been busy munching in the garden, and I now have only two cauliflower plants which still have leaves on them.  I had the “brilliant” idea of putting hot sauce on the leaves of my remaining beans and cruciferous vegetables (NOT! – it burned the leaves).  It’s not looking good garden-wise this year.  The deer have also been in the yard, because the peony buds were chewed off the top of one of the bushes!  I was putting the hose away after watering one night, and found these babies:  

Baby spiders shortly after hatching...

To give you some idea how tiny they were, the big green thing at the side of the photo is my garden hose…it was neat to see the babies coming out of their nest.

3. Bell-Ringers.  This week has been a busy time at the Saint John City Market…I’ve been working solo since Tuesday afternoon.  It is a very big learning curve, but I should be all right…lots of different people and personalities to interact with!  On Saturday, a local man came up to my office and introduced me to a family visiting from Germany.  He asked if the two little boys could ring the market bell.  I opened the window of my office (which gives me a view of the whole market), and grabbed the bell-pull and handed it to the first blond boy…he was about six.  He pulled it twice, wearing a huge grin.  Then it was his little brother’s turn.  I hope that was one of the things those kids will remember about their trip to Saint John!

4. Breakfast.  Sunday was Father’s Day, and Anna and Brianna made breakfast in bed for Jim (Hope was visiting her dad and Devin was fast asleep)…I was elected to go back up and tell Jim he had to stay upstairs until it was ready.  It was definitely worth waiting for…the girls used eggs, cheese, potato patties, bacon and sausage to create this guy (the shirt, tie and flower are made of paper napkins): 

Jim's Father's Day Breakfast...photo by Anna

5. BBQ.  We were invited to Jim’s parents for a Father’s Day barbecue…Kaylee and Scott couldn’t make it (hopefully we’ll get to see them next week).  Jim’s mom and dad provided the meat (chicken, sausages, hot dogs, and hamburgers) and potato salad.  Jim’s sister, Kim, brought a veggie/dip tray, and his other sister, Tracy, made a delicious berry trifle for dessert.  I made a broccoli/pasta salad with bow tie pasta, broccoli florets, carrots, mayo and lemon juice (it also has almonds in it, but I brought those separately because of Jim’s allergy to them):

Broccoli Pasta Salad...

We all ate so much that we were stuffed…I went right to bed when we got home!

Well, I’m off to fold some more laundry, and perhaps get caught up on some blog-reading…I’m about a week behind!  I’ll be filling in this week with some more archive posts, and hope to have another new post for you next week!

38 Comments

Filed under family, food, gardening, nature, photos

38 responses to “Blossoms, Babies, Bell-Ringers, Breakfast, and BBQ…NEW POST!

  1. I’m glad you tried the hot sauce idea for keeping away pests before I tried it. I was going to put it all over my legs to keep away mosquitoes, but I guess I’ll try something else.

  2. Sorry, I’m still laughing at Paul’s comment above! Too damn funny! (I too did a garden post today.)

    Seriously, I’m sorry about your garden getting eaten! Plus, the girls’ breakfast guy is incredible! How creative!

    Hope you have a good week, my friend!

    Kathy

  3. Anna and Brianna rock! What a wonderful presentation of breakfast for Dad! That is brilliant, Wendy. And, as the above comments state – the egg man is a far better idea than the hot sauce on plants idea. D’oh! :)

  4. That Fathers Day Breakfast is world-class. I understand that before he saw the photo, Paul instructed his family to put scrambled eggs and bacon on his face for Fathers Day.

  5. That’s a very cool Father’s Day breakfast idea. Hope you enjoy a little quiet time, Wendy.

  6. Gonna have to agree with all the previous comments. That Father’s Day breakfast is superb!!

  7. Ditto on the Fathers Day breakfast- that is too cute. Dang, I hate to be unoriginal!

  8. Clay Morgan

    That breakfast guy is awesome!

  9. Darn garden pests! Beautiful rhododendrons though.

    The breakfast guy was so cool. Cute idea!

    • Thanks, Annie…my rhododendron bush is only about two feet tall…it doesn’t seem to have grown at all in 2 1/2 years! I think it was planted in a bad spot. I’m happy for the few flowers it does produce… Wendy

  10. Jess Witkins

    Love all the photos Wendy! That breakfast dad is really creative. Your kids are so talented. Love the flowers and the yummy looking food! I’ll have a good recipe coming up on the blog soon. Joe and I are getting back to cooking. Yay!

    P.S. We’re thinking Toronto will be our destination. I was looking at a map of Canada, and I fear you and Charles are a bit too far this time around. But I did tell him about Grand Manon. Any chance you guys are near Toronto in August?

    • Thanks, Jess…glad you enjoyed the post and the photos. It’s doubtful that we’ll be near Toronto in August…if we go anywhere, it will be to visit my brother near Ottawa, and even that is up in the air because I don’t know how long this job I’m doing might last… Have fun on your trip! Wendy

  11. Those baby spiders remind me of Charlotte’s Web!! Now just imagine when those sacks/nests hatch inside our homes….shiver!

    I’ll take the breakfast guy please.
    Beth

    • You’re the first person to mention the spiders, Beth! Luckily, I really like bugs, so that stuff doesn’t bother me! I wish there had been some leftovers from “Breakfast Guy”…

      Wendy

  12. Wew- Glad the ground hog wasn’t served up with all the other meats at the BBQ… My mother told me she was invited to my sister’s to eat dove- that they’d been shooting off the back porch. I call those pigeons in my neck of the woods. I’m glad your family had a nice celebration for Father’s Day!

    • Oh dear, Emily…we have a couple of beautiful brown doves (not pigeons), which hang around our deck…lovely to listen to them cooing to each other… We may live in the country, but the thought of eating groundhog is not tempting… Wendy

  13. The flower blooms are spectacular. My daylillies finally opened. I love them so. Glad to hear your job is going well and how nice to give those tourists a fun thing to remember. Love, love the father’s day breakfast tray. So creative and fun. I’m sure Jim enjoyed it.

    Sorry, I’ve been absent, like you, I am way behind on reading. Love to you, Diane

    • Glad you stopped by, Diane…

      Lilies (any kind) are one of my favourite flowers!

      Jim loved his breakfast (there certainly weren’t any leftovers!).

      I hope to catch up on some more reading tonight…

      Hugs,
      Wendy

  14. Breakfast guy is fantastic. I plan on making one as soon as I can come up with an excuse! So good to read one of your round-ups. I’m glad things are going well with your job.

    • Thanks, Amy…I think Breakfast Guy would be fun to make for any occasion! Keith is definitely deserving of a special breakfast! My job is busy, but the days go fast… Wendy

  15. Love the Father’s Day egg dish. The resemblance to Jim is uncanny.

    I’m sorry the critters are eating up your garden. Hopefully you’ll be able to salvage a few veggies here and there.

    One spider, okay. Dozens of spiders, I’m getting the heebie jeebies.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your job. it sounds exciting and challenging.

    • Thanks, Jacquelin…There’s just something sexy about ears made of sausage…LOL… I like bugs, so I thought the spiders were neat. The job is busy, and the days go fast, but it’s tough keeping up with things like blogging! Wendy

  16. Wow! Now that’s a father’s day breakfast.. :)

  17. Adorable feast for breakfast, adorable napkin and beautiful rhododendron.

  18. Beautiful pink blossoms. Doesn’t midsummer eve celebrate St. John (tonight) I thought I read that some place. Loved the bell ringer story. The Father’s day breakfast was adorable and so clever! Your days sound long and full but they also seem to be making you happy.

Leave a Reply

