Virgin Post…

I am embarking on a new project…I’m hoping that our family of seven can move towards producing more of our own food, and stop being such consumers of “stuff” (may have to work on the kids on that last part!).  I also love to cook and bake, and am looking forward to having our own produce to cook with… 

I had plans for a huge garden last year, but Mother Nature had other ideas, pouring nearly constant rain on our little corner of New Brunswick…plants were transplanted too late, and did not have time to mature before frost killed them!  We did have a few greens, carrots and beets (thanks to the efforts of my dad), but lost the entire tomato crop, and never planted anything else.  It was the first year for that garden patch, and the rototiller we rented was somewhat ineffective at breaking up the big clods of dirt (truthfully, it SUCKED!).

Things will be different this year…my landlord has promised to turn our soil with his tractor-hauled tiller.  I ordered heirloom seeds from a New Brunswick seed company http://hopeseed.com/index.html …they should be more suitable to our short growing season.  My fiancé, Jim, has promised to build me some “cold frames” so that I can put the transplants into the ground sooner.

I picked up our seeds at http://www.thefeelgoodstore.ca/ last week…I’m so excited!  My oldest daughter, Kaylee, is planting her first garden this year at her house, so I shared a lot of seeds with her…she passed on the purple brussel sprouts though (“Ewww!” she said).

My daughter, Anna, took this picture of one of our deer licking its lips...

The next step is starting some seedlings in the house…need to clear off an old kitchen table, and rearrange some boxes in the back kitchen (aka storage room/dumpall), so that I can put the plants in front of a south-facing window.  I’ve been saving cardboard egg cartons for months…will just cut them apart and plant them directly in the ground when the time comes to transplant.

If I have time, I’d also like to plant flowers in the front yard, perhaps in some interesting containers found at yard sales…haven’t figured out how to keep our resident deer herd out of them though!

I’m hoping that this blog will help keep me from procrastinating, and keep my writing skills from rusting!

7 Comments

Filed under gardening

7 responses to “Virgin Post…

  1. planejaner

    You go, girl! we are moving in this direction, as well (see blog)…our family of 4 seems, most days, on board…we do struggle, sometimes…it’s hard to remove ourselves from “the norms of society”
    blessings on your intentions!
    jane

    • Thanks for your encouragement, Jane! I checked out your blog, and really enjoy your writing style. I aspire to be as good as you are some day (with a little more practice!). Still struggling with the technology!

      • planejaner

        By technology, do you mean all the shiny toys that are available here on WordPress? I was overwhelmed, initially, too…It took me a good month to get the hang of all I could do with the site…and different ways to connect with others who are writing and sharing about some of the same things…

        hang in there! You’ll get it…and thank you so much for your kind words–I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it! 🙂
        jane

      • Yes…the “shiny toys…” took me forever to figure out how to attach tags and categories!

  2. mike

    We are about to start our own little vegetable garden this year but have no idea where to start. Any suggestions on websites or books that will help us start out ?

  3. Pingback: My Blogging (Half) Birthday… « Herding Cats in Hammond River

Leave a Reply

