One Month Down…

Today is the one-month anniversary of starting this project, this blog called “Herding Cats in Hammond River.”  My first post was Tuesday, March 23rd – bad things usually happen to me on Tuesdays (see https://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/tuesdays-twinkies-teflon-and-tv-dinners/), but this is one of the best things I’ve ever done.  I started this project three years (almost to the day) after I stopped writing a community newsletter for West Saint John called “West Side Story” – people I ran into kept telling me how much they missed my paper, and I was missing it too!

Initially, I started it as a way to keep a record of my efforts at making our family of seven more self-sufficient by growing and cooking more of our own food.  Soon however, I changed the subtitle to “Musings of a A Matriarch,” because I found that I had so much more to share than was covered by my original focus (also,  you can only read about my little seedlings so many times before switching your screen to something else – by the way, our dog got at them yesterday while we were at work – broccoli is devastated, and cabbage and Brussels sprouts are on life support – I was in tears!).

Jake, The Plant Destroyer...

I am a huge procrastinator, so this has been a good way to combat my “putting stuff off” mentality – hopefully, my audience (“my public” as I jokingly call them) looks forward to reading my blog every day as much as I enjoy writing it…I just passed 700 hits – not bad for a month (although I’ve got a long way to go before I reach another blogging colleague’s stats of 2500 hits/day!).  The Top 5 posts were: Virgin Post, Miss Muffet and Her Quest for Curd, Wood That I Could, Connie’s Dream, and A Rant (I’m amazed that more than 30 people clicked to see what I was bitching about!).  Being a big fans of stats, I would love it if I needed more than one hand to count the number of subscribers…if you like my blog, please subscribe (click on the “Sign me up!” button – top right)…that way, it will get sent to your e-mail every day, and you won’t miss anything!

Sign Me Up! button...

One of the benefits of doing this blog has been meeting (online) other amazing female bloggers – I have formed a strong bond with one of them, Jane (PlaneJaner’s Journey – http://planejaner.wordpress.com/).  She is a beautiful writer, much more literary than I am!  She has encouraged me from the very first day I started.  Even though we live on opposite coasts, I often wonder if we are sisters who were separated at birth.  I look forward to the day when we can actually hug each other without typing on the keyboard!

Jim and the kids are enjoying learning things about me they didn’t know, and are being good sports about me using them as writing topics (or targets, as the case may be!).  “Am I in your blog today, Mom?” Hope asks.  My own mother passed away in the fall of 2007 – I’m sharing my memories of her, too…I think she’d approve!

The Family - Christmas, 2009

My extended family has been particularly supportive…one of my aunts (who I haven’t seen in 17 years) commented that it’s like I was gone from her life, but now I’m back.  Another aunt (a published author, no less) says: “[We] read with anticipation, feel a closeness to you and a tenderness, like never before.”  I often think about my blog posts as letters to my family, even though I can’t remember the last time I actually wrote a letter…e-mail has taken over my life!

My Aunts and My Mom (in pool) - early 1980's...

So, thank you, readers, for taking time out of your day to see what I’ve been up to…I will continue this project as long as we are both having fun!

2 Comments

Filed under self-discovery

2 responses to “One Month Down…

  1. planejaner

    Sweet…that picture of Jake has him looking particularly…bad. Like he’s up to no good whatsoever.
    Glad I found you, on your very first day!
    And who gets 2,500 hits a day? I wish!
    blessings
    jane

Leave a Reply

