Things I Love…

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe once said, “We are shaped and fashioned by what we love.”  Here are some of the things I love:

1. My children/stepchildren/grandchild.  As much as they drive me crazy sometimes, I still love them all!

Who couldn't love this sweet face?

2. Jim.  I am so grateful every day that we found each other! 

Jim rockin' out on the back porch...

 

3. The rest of our family.  Their love and support means so much to us. 

 4. Our bookstore.  It is a joy to go there every day, meet amazing people, and learn new things all the time!

Our Store…

5. Our home.  I wish I had moved back to the country a lot sooner.  I love our back yard, the river, our garden, and being surrounded by nature. 

Hope in our yard...

 

6. Our dog, Jake.  He’s always happy to see us, no matter how little time we’ve been gone.

Jake, hanging out on the trampoline with the kids...

7. Getting away for long weekends with Jim.  We both need time away from the responsibilities of work and having four teenagers still at home.  We try to go at least a couple of times a year.  Our favourite places are PEI and Grand Manan.

North Head, Grand Manan from the ferry...photo by Jim...

 

8.  Great music, live or recorded.  I simply can’t live without it!

Here we are at Magnetic Hill in the summer of 2008, with 90,000 people who came to see the Eagles and John Fogerty (among others)...

 9. Good simple food.  Nothing tastes better to me than vegetables fresh from the garden, or homemade cookies right out of the oven.

10. Books.  I always have at least one on the go.

One of the books I'm reading now...

11. Red wine.  I developed a taste for it later in life, having only had white wine until the past few years.  The girls in Book Club got me on to it!

12. Live theatre.  I’ve been going to Saint John Theatre Company plays, as well as the Saint John Shakespeare Festival for many years.  The quality of the productions is top-notch, and you can’t ask for a more beautiful venue than the Imperial Theatre!

Imperial Theatre...

2 Comments

Filed under books, food, music, self-discovery, travel

2 responses to “Things I Love…

  1. Judy Fortier

    Another great blog. How are you liking “The Poisonwood Bible”??

    • I’m about 2/3 of the way through it…I like the fact that the story is told from rotating points of view (mostly the four girls in the family). I wonder how many missionaries were really as crazy as the father comes off in this one…

      This is the third Barbara Kingsolver book I’ve read…she’s an amazing writer!

      Wendy

Leave a Reply

