Music to My Ears…

I usually don’t make lists, except grocery lists (ask my friend, Jane!), but sometimes it’s fun to do just to see what  you can come up with…

Here’s a list of my 10 favourite sounds:

1. My children’s first cries…just the ones when they were born – after that, it gets old!

Me and Hope...my last baby...

2. My nine-month-old granddaughter’s first attempts at real words: Mama, Dad, up, cat (still working on the “c” sound), hat.

"Cat."

3. Baby laughs.

Giggles.

4. Birds singing outside the window in the morning.  Jim’s collection of bird feeders has attracted all kinds of beautiful voices from nature.

"Did you hear about that starling that crashed into a window?" (photo by Jim)

5. Crickets at night.  That reminds me of my childhood.

Crickets are one of the bugs I like...

6. Trains…I’ve almost always lived near train tracks.  I find the sound of a train’s wheels on the rails rhythmic and relaxing…not crazy about whistles though…

Train crossing rail bridge at Reversing Falls in my old neighbourhood in West Saint John...

7. Jim’s snoring.  That sounds strange, but it’s comforting to know he’s there beside me (the poor man wears headphones to bed to drown out my buzzsaw-like noises – all the women in my family are champion snorers!).

8. The sound of the kettle as it first comes to a boil…it means my first cup of tea will be ready soon.

My kettle looks like this...

9. Jake’s barking when we arrive home after work…he’s always happy to see us!

My Favourite Dog...Jake...(photo by Jim)

10. Silence.  Having a few moments of silence to collect my scattered thoughts is a luxury I don’t have very often.

53 Comments

Filed under family, memories, self-discovery

53 responses to “Music to My Ears…

  1. Wow, you like the sound of trains and your husbands snoring…hmmm…

    I agree with all the rest though!

    Nice piece!

  2. squirrelsloveacorns

    Very nice! I like your variation in things that you enjoy hearing. I love silence, but I also love baby laughs.

    I love posts like this 🙂

  3. festaderodeio

    you sounded very sincere here… I share with you the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9 and 10.. (not in this sequence)

  4. LOL #1 was too funny 🙂

  5. Nice post. It got me to thinking. My grandson just turned one. He lives in London. The sound of his laughter is the best. The beeps of the coffee maker in the morning, telling me the coffee is ready (Sometimes I cheat and pour early. My husband frowns when I do that.) Always, the sound of the ocean. And the words “Love you,” when any of my kids ends a phone conversation with me.

  6. I’m glad you stopped by, lifeintheboomerlane! I’m lucky that my granddaughter is only 25 minutes away. I also love the sound of my loved ones telling me that they love me!

    Wendy

  7. Baby laughs are the absolute best!

  8. Jim Hagen

    When are people going to realize that the dog is not ‘happy’ to see you. He is just energized because his food source has returned.

    • Wow…thanks for bursting my bubble, Jim!

      Seriously, though…our dog is the biggest suck ever…he makes a sound very much like a scream when my Jim goes out on the deck without him! “Wait…you forgot me!” He has to be right up under our chin when he sits on our laps too, and he nuzzles our hands with his nose if we’re not petting him…

      Thanks for reading!

  9. It’s really wierd, but I always liked the sound that an old CD jukebox makes when it’s finding it’s next CD. And the sound of crickets.
    -GWP14

  10. I’m a coffee drinker and cat lover. Oh, and my husband accuses me – me! – of snoring. Otherwise, I’m right with you on this post, especially #1 (my kids are still young, in elementary school). Your photos are gorgeous too.

    One way to get around the “c” problem in cat? Just say “Mau!”

  11. blackwatertown

    You had me for the first four.
    An alternative?
    The obble gobble obble gobble sound of the first wine poured from a bottle.

  12. aww this post is cute

  13. Judy Fortier

    Wow, Wendy..looks like you got a lot of peoples attention. I think we all like to read lists and compare with our likes or dislikes. Good blog!!

    • Thanks, Judy…I was lucky to be one of ten blogs (out of about 287,000!) to be featured on the WordPress.com homepage today…it’s kind of like winning the lottery!

      Wendy

  14. I love baby’s laughs, and babys first words. Not husbands snores!! I want to poke my eyes out with a needle and move to another room when my husband snores!!

    But I love lists, can’t get enough!!

    Good blog. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    evelyngarone.wordpress.com

    • Glad you stopped by, Evie! Luckily, I sleep quite soundly, and only hear Jim snoring when I’m actually awake (I get up two hours before he does!).

      I feel very fortunate to be “Freshly Pressed.” It’s been quite a fun day!

  15. Me too I love the sound of a train far away (not in my garden though!!) When I was a child, it was helping me to sleep… sound reassuring. Trains always been kind of mysterious about where they come from and where they’re going. Everything else you said is good too!

    • Glad you came by, courbebleue! We’re just down the river from the train bridge (hear them about four times a day). They don’t use their whistles, so I’m good with that!

  16. Just found your blog! #1 is too funny because its sooooo true!

  17. I’m nuts about my grandchildren’s giggles.
    But hate birds singing…especially in the morning.
    Let me sleep!

  18. Like most of that sound too. other favorite sounds for me are: sound of water flowing and the sound of traditional sundanese instrument (kind of flute).

  19. And here I thought I was the only one who loves my husbands snoring! The birds singing, sound of crickets, nature in general are music to my ears. Great list and thanks for the smile!

  20. music is very powerfull for me. im writing this while llistening to the corrs!

  21. arulchandra

    nice post

  22. Songbird

    hmm.. agree with most of those… except maybe the snoring…lol… and the cricket sounds are lovely in the evening… always reminds me of fabulous summer holidays…

    • Glad you stopped by, Songbird!

      I’m really enjoying sitting outside on our deck in the evening…birds and bats do a good job of keeping the “biting bugs” population under control.

  23. I love reading lists like these — very interesting to see what floats others’ boats. I could do without the “birds in the morning,” though. In fact, I’m hoping all of ours fly away really soon…so sleepy…

  24. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    Favorite sounds, and peaceful silence, both are well worth listening to!

    http://learning2hear.wordpress.com/

  25. Pictures 2 and 3 are so adorable! The cat looks a little surprised.

Leave a Reply

