My Fifteen Minutes of Fame Lasted Only Fourteen-and-a-Half…

In the future, everyone will be world-famous for 15 minutes.   Andy Warhol, 1968

Hey…it’s ME…writerwoman61!   Is this thing on?

Last Monday, I was just another one of the 273,000 bloggers whose “words of wisdom” appear on WordPress.com whenever I feel like sharing them…after three months of blogging, I had a small but steady following, garnering about 30 or 40 hits a day.  Some of the readers even commented (favourably) on my pieces…

Everything changed on Tuesday…I suddenly noticed comments coming in from people I wasn’t related to, or who weren’t Facebook friends!  And my stats on my Dashboard were climbing faster than I could keep track of them!

Stats chart from last week, leading up to Tuesday...

Something was up…I suspected that my blog might have been featured on the WordPress.com homepage…I navigated my way there…sure enough, there I was: “Freshly Pressed”!  Imagine my excitement! 

A few hours after discovering my newfound popularity, I got this message in my e-mail:

“Congrats! Your post ( https://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/06/29/music-to-my-ears/ ) has been promoted to Freshly Pressed on WordPress.com. Keep up the good work!
^-^-^-^-^-^

Joy
Editorial Czar

WordPress.com | Automattic
editor@wordpress.com

(no offense, Joy, but you’re an EDITOR!  Shouldn’t you know how to spell “automatic”?).

I was still in shock, but realized that in the blogosphere, being “Freshly Pressed” is something like winning the lottery!  I was honoured to have been “chosen,” (I seriously wondered if my being picked was completely random – perhaps it was) but if I had it to do over again, I would have made sure they featured a more interesting post: truth be told, that one was the result of a “story prompt” that said to write about sounds that I liked.  Not one of my better efforts (I hope people read some other posts while they were here besides that one, but I suspect not!).  Had I known I was going to be showcased, I also probably wouldn’t have chosen a blurry scanned photo for my blog thumbnail!

I spent the rest of the day (and part of the next one) clicking back to my Dashboard every few minutes, marvelling at my ever-increasing number of hits (“They like me…they really like me!”), and answering comments.  I got almost as many comments for that one post as I had on the whole blog for the three months beforehand!  For the most part, people were very kind (although one fellow felt the need to point out that my dog really wasn’t happy to see me when I got home – he was just excited because his meal ticket was back!).  I checked out the commenters’ blogs, and found a few kindred spirits to add to my growing circle of female blogging buddies (I’ve added their links at the right – they’re all talented writers – please wait until you’ve finished reading mine though before clicking!).  I even got a couple of new subscribers out of it.

By Thursday, my popularity was waning, and my slide to oblivion began in earnest…my page on “Freshly Pressed” had been pushed into the background, replaced by new “celebrities.”

The sad aftermath of sudden fame...

At least I still have my looks…

16 Comments

Filed under blogging, memories

16 responses to “My Fifteen Minutes of Fame Lasted Only Fourteen-and-a-Half…

  1. Congratulations on yor 14 and a half minutes!

    Nice to meet a fellow maritimer. I really enjoyed your post!

  2. Oof — that was harsh. The company that owns WordPress is indeed spelled Automattic, with two t’s.

    http://automattic.com/

    It’s based on the name of the founder, Matt.

    So, still think I’m a bunk editor? 😀

    • My sincere apologies, Joy! My newbieness appears to be showing (blush)…I really do appreciate being featured on Freshly Pressed! I have a friend, Jane, who is positively chartreuse with jealousy…perhaps you could feature PlaneJaner’s Journey next time?

      Hey…do they need any more editors there (as you can see, I’m a whiz at picking up spelling mistakes)? I’m between paying gigs right now…

      Wendy

  3. planejaner

    Ooh–Wendy! At least you HAD 15 minutes of fame…I keep hoping I’ll get chosen.
    alas.
    i have no sympathy for you.

    i am, indeed, that jealous. 🙂
    jane

  4. What a perfect take on the whole thing. It’s like going from off-off-Broadway to 47th Street, then back again. But we did have our moment!

  5. Ha…great post from the post-celeb! What a lovely looking graph…(sigh) 🙂

  6. Congrats! Quite a rush, isn’t it, Wendy? Sort of spoils a person. Kind of liking getting called up from the minor leagues for one game in the pros and then being demoted again. Back to traveling by bus rather than private jet. Oh well, there’s more scenery when driving.

    Chase

  7. Wendy, this post made me laugh out loud. This is what I keep hearing from Freshly Pressed alumns–that the ride up is fantastic, but the drop is devastating.

    The good news is that you can be Freshly Pressed more than once.

    I’m sure you’ll become a regular name on the Freshly Pressed marquee, because you’re delightful. 🙂

    Maura

    • Thanks, Maura…I think I like being “delightful.” You’re the first person who’s ever described me that way (that I know of)! I’m sure you’re just as delightful as I am!

      Wendy

      P.S. Our friend, Todd Pack, has apparently been “Freshly Pressed” three times…no wrinkles on that boy!

  8. Hey, you’re pretty funny! 😀

Leave a Reply

