Waiting for Earl…

Hurricane (or Tropical Storm, hopefully) Earl is scheduled to arrive here early tomorrow morning, and when he gets here, we’ll be ready…

Having spent my early years in Ohio, I have vivid memories of our whole family sitting under a table in the basement waiting for a tornado.  Dad held the staticky transistor radio in his hand as we listened anxiously to the Tornado Warnings being issued.  I remember seeing the sky outside go black at 3 in the afternoon, and seeing hail as big as baseballs!  Luckily, we were never hit with a tornado, but to this day, I am terrified of windstorms!

This transistor looks like ours...

I was never a Girl Scout, so being “prepared” is a state I’m rarely in.  However, since we’ve had lots of advance warning, we decided to do as much as we could to avert potential disaster at our house.

Last night, Jim and I stopped at the grocery store on the way home – we spent almost $150!  Among the essentials were 8 jugs of water, in case the 40-70mm (1 1/2″ to 2 3/4″) of rain we’re supposed to get messes up our well (again, like it did when we got 90mm last year!).  If the power goes out, we’ll break out the Sugar Smacks or the Alpha-Bits we bought.  We also have 4 bags of chips, and about 10 bottles of pop.  If you’re going to die in a storm, you might as well eat what you like…(I did slip some apples, a cantaloupe and a bag of spinach into the cart, though).

We stopped for gas and ice (to keep the pop cold) on the way home. 

After supper, I went out to the garden while Jim put away the lawn furniture (I saw him doing something with bungee cords – I didn’t ask!).  The kids worked together surprisingly well to take down the trampoline.  I picked all the tomatoes that were ready (I’m up to using a BIG mixing bowl now!), and all the beans.  I picked a Red Kuri squash and a Dakota Dessert Squash.  We now have four huge pumpkins about 18″ in diameter.  I wanted to harvest them, but Dad convinced me that the 90kmh (56mph) winds the weatherman is calling for would not send them hurtling across the field (if you see a piece on the 11 o-clock news tomorrow night about “When Pumpkins Kill,” Dad was wrong!).  I sadly said “Goodbye” to the sunflowers…I suspect they will not survive the wind!  I dragged out the hose and watered everything, as I have every night this week.  I rejected Dad’s offer of help putting the hose away…I find that whenever he “helps” me, it just slows me down…

Attack of the Killer Pumpkin...

When I got inside, it was almost 9, and I was exhausted.  Jim talked me into watching an episode of Modern Family (he has the whole first season downloaded).  I asked to see the one where Phil and Jay fly the remote control airplane together…”I was in a plane crash!” (best line ever, spoken by Phil after Jay flies the plane into his face).  After watching half the first episode of a strange sci-fi series called Eureka, I was ready to crash myself…

Phil recovering from the "plane crash"...

We just have to pick up a couple more things tonight, and then…

Bring on the storm!

8 Comments

Filed under family, food, gardening, nature

8 responses to “Waiting for Earl…

  1. So has it hit, yet? I can’t imagine experiencing such a force of nature … but it sounds like you’re used to it, and well prepared and safe.

    • Fortunately, it seems to have pretty much missed us…we had a little rain, but that was it. The sun is shining now! Nova Scotia got hit hard though…this morning, 42,000 people had no power.

      Last year, we had about 90 mm of rain in one go when there was a hurricane…made our well a bit muddy, but no flooding from the river for us, as we live on a hill. There were some cows (and one horse) down the road who were up to their bellies in water in a field though…everything ended up all right in the end.

      Wendy

  2. Rainbows apologize for angry skies. ~Sylvia Voirol. I hope if Earl visits..a Rainbow follows!

    Katybeth

    • Luckily, Katybeth, Earl passed us by this time (not so lucky for our friends in Nova Scotia though!)…a bit of rain, and almost no wind! Good for the garden, which has been awfully dry the last few weeks…

      Wendy

  3. Glad to hear it missed you–no doubt because you were so well prepared!

  4. LOL, I read this after your followup post, and it makes much more sense to me now! You were certainly prepared, huh?

    I love seeing black skies before a storm, something so ominous and comforting about it at the same time. I know, weird.

Leave a Reply

