Honourable Mention…

Wow…first the Bloody Brilliant Blogger’s Award, and now I’ve been “tagged” by Hippie Cahier, a self-described “woman of mystery” who shares my appreciation of both Todd Pack’s Messy Desk and Blurt.  I checked out some of Hippie’s blog last night…nearly peed myself laughing at this post: Confessions of a Worrier Princess

Thanks, Hippie, for tagging me…I’m supposed to answer 8 questions about myself, and then tag 8 other bloggers (who then repeat the process).  So, here it is:

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have? Why?

I want the ability to tell when people are lying, and then be able to point that fact out to other people.  Anyone who lies for their own gain would experience an immediate change of colour to their tongue…the bigger the lie, the brighter red it would turn (husbands who lie when asked, “Does this outfit make me look fat?” would be exempt).  I think my superhero name would be Lady Lie Detector (and my costume would be tasteful, but show lots of cleavage).

This guy told his wife he was working late...it was a lie!

2. Who is your style icon?

If I had lots of money, I would like to dress like Meredith Vieira.  She dresses casually, but always looks good.  I also really like Sears’ Jessica line.  Most of the clothes I buy now come from consignment stores or Value Village.

Meredith Vieira...cool style...

3. What is your favorite quote?

This is a hard one…I am a “quote junkie.”  I’m going to give you two:

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.  Mahatma Ghandi 

I learn something new every day, even if it’s something small.  If you ever stop learning, I believe you’ve got one foot in the grave!

Well-behaved women seldom make history.  Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

I have this quote on a mug, and a tote bag.  I’ve never let men tell me what to do, and I never will!

I want this shirt!

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

“Your daughter is so well-behaved!” (and then I turn around and look behind me to see who they’re really talking to).

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now?

Hmmm…don’t have an iPod…don’t know how to work one!  I often just pop a CD into my computer and listen to it.  It would probably be something folk or blues (probably one of the artists I have links to on the right side).  I’m also fond of CBC Radio 2 Concerts on Demand.

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

That’s an easy one: morning person.  I’m up at 5:30 during the week, and might sleep in until 8 on weekends.  If I don’t get to bed some time between 10 and 11, I’m really cranky the next day!  Being a morning person can be a problem when one sleeps with a night owl, but I’m slowly getting him “trained.”  At least he’s stopped staying up half the night!

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats? 

I like both, but I think dogs are my favourite.  Cats really don’t need us except to look after them…they usually don’t follow you around unless they want something.  Our dog is a huge suck…he always wants to be with us, wherever we happen to be!  Even if we’ve only been out of his sight for a couple of minutes, he jumps around like it’s Christmas when we come back!  “Oh, Mommy!  I’m so happy to see you!” 

This is Jake, hanging out on the trampoline with the girls...

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

Well, let’s see…I live in Hammond River, New Brunswick, with Jim, our four teenagers, and my dad.  Managing daily life is sometimes nearly impossible, like “herding cats” (refer to #7).  I have to tell a funny story about my friend, Renée, over at Life in the Boomer Lane:  Renée is a tiny bit technically-challenged, and was talking to her daughter in England on Skype to get her to add a link to my blog on Renée’s.  Her daughter misheard, and added a link to “Hurting Cats in Hammond River.”  We try not to do that here…

So, I’ve finished my assignment…the taggees are Maura at 36 x 37 (a recent discovery from Freshly Pressed – she’s funny and thinks I’m “delightful” – plus, she’s from Ohio!) and anyone who comments on this post and feels like doing it…I already gave most of my blogging friends a “shitload of homework” (as my friend, Nancy, at Embracing Myself so eloquently puts it) when I passed on the Bloody Brilliant Blogger’s Award!

17 Comments

Filed under blogging, friends, satire, self-discovery

17 responses to “Honourable Mention…

  1. I’m a bit nervous to comment in case you tag me! So without taking that on, I enjoyed this post – and getting to know a bit more about you each day! Thanks!
    Sunshine x

  2. Jake is gorgeous!!! Want to just eat him all up 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Molly…Jake is a schnoodle (miniature schnauzer and miniature poodle mix). He’s cute, but not sure about “gorgeous”…you haven’t seen the presents he leaves us in the back kitchen!

      Wendy

  3. planejaner

    Wendy–
    aren’t you having fun these days!
    take care
    jane

  4. Aww. Thanks, Wendy! 1) I could never beat your answers. That superpower you dreamed up is outstanding, and 2) I actually love these “tag-you’re-it-now-answer-these-questions” games. So you can count on me posting about this on Friday.

    I’m entirely flattered. Wait until Sunshine finds out she’s on my “tagged” list.

  5. I love this one: “Well-behaved women seldom make history.” Now I feel like I’ve got the license to misbehave!

  6. hippie cahier

    Thank you for playing along. Sorry for the homework, but it worked out nicely. I enjoyed reading, and as I said before, I like your music list. In fact, I woke up this morning with Lucinda Williams singing “Car Wheels On a Gravel Road” in my head. I hate it when she does that so early in the morning. 🙂

    P.S. May I add you to my blog roll?

    • Thanks, Hippie! I added a new girl to the music list today that I heard on CBC named Leela Gilday…folk singer with a beautiful voice!

      I would be pleased for you to add me to your Blogroll, and I will return the favour.

      You would probably enjoy today’s post, being a “wordie.”

      Thanks again for tagging me!

      Wendy

  7. I like this entire post, but I had forgotten about the “Hurting Cats in Hammond River” episode!

  8. Pingback: Asked and answered | Blurt

  9. I love how your superhero costume would be “tasteful, but show lots of cleavage.” Is there any other kind of tasteful?

Leave a Reply

