It’s One O’Clock…Do You Know Where My Plumber Is?

It’s Tuesday afternoon, and I’m sitting in our house waiting for our plumber to make an appearance…remember this?

What the plumber did the last time he was here...FIVE weeks ago!

This is one of our downstairs bathrooms – the kids’ bathroom.  It still looks like the photo…teenagers have been using mine and Jim’s shower upstairs for five long weeks. 

I spoke to my landlord on Friday when he came to the bookstore to pick up rent cheques…he had no idea the job wasn’t finished…apparently, it’s quite normal to wait for three months for a bill from this particular plumber!  The landlord told me that he’d call right away, and get him to come back out.

The plumber came yesterday after Hope came home from school…she called me on my cell, to tell me that the plumber wanted a key to our house so he could come and do the work.  She also commented on his rudeness…this is the note I found when I got home:

The note Hope left me...

I called the Procrastinating Plumber from the car.  He was rude!  He went on and on about how much work there was to do: “We’ve got to put in a whole new set of taps and a shower in the wall, and then it’s going to have to have new drywall and new tiles!”  Um, yeah…I didn’t know that from the giant friggin’ hole in the wall!  I guess that’s why he gets paid the big bucks!  He seemed to think I should just give him a key to our house.  I explained that “we did not feel comfortable doing that” and that since I’m self-employed, I would stay home from the bookstore so that they could come in and do the work the next day.  He tried in vain to talk me out of it, saying that plumbers have all kinds of emergencies, and might not be able to come, and then I would have taken the day off for nothing!  While I admire his efforts at convincing me that he cared about me, I would not be moved.

And so I sit, waiting for the plumber, who may or may not come.  So far, I’ve made breakfast, drank two cups of tea and a big glass of orange/pineapple juice, taken the compost out, run the dishwasher, gotten some pots and pans washed, cleaned the top of the stove, caught up on my e-mail, played on Facebook, and written this blog post…I might have to resort to folding laundry next…sigh…

16 Comments

Filed under rants, satire

16 responses to “It’s One O’Clock…Do You Know Where My Plumber Is?

  1. I feel your pain. I usually find myself waiting on the cable guy instead of the plumber. Hope your guy arrives soon and that he lost his rude demeanor overnight.

    • He drove in five minutes after I hit “Publish.” Luckily, it wasn’t “Rude Guy”, but a much nicer young guy who’s been here before. He’s working as we speak…my dog’s going nuts out on the deck!

      Wendy

  2. I’m glad it’s all worked out ok – that is such a frustrating and annoying situation. Aaaarrghhh! I love your daughter’s note – that’s hilarious!
    Sunshine xx

  3. I hate when that happens–glad another guy showed up to finish the job.

  4. Damn, I hate when that happens. Don’t you dare give that rude man anything. Ughhhhhhhhh.

  5. Do they learn how to half do things and leave in plumber school? I had a very similar experience at work resulting in no bathrooms for 100 people for 24 hours.

    • I found out from this guy that the original young man that was here five weeks ago was the boss’s son and had gone back to university…apparently he didn’t bother to tell anybody he hadn’t finished the job!

      Wendy

  6. I was really upset for you. But good to know it’s being taken care of. As Wallis likes to say, All’s well that ends well. 🙂

    • Thanks, Lin…I’ve got an even bigger hole in my wall now, but carpenter guy is supposed to come and look at it this afternoon, and will probably be here Friday to put in new drywall and a real tub surround (yay…no more mildewed walls!).

      Wendy

  7. Plumbers, electricians, the handyman show up at my house once and then disappear. It has happened so much in the past month, I have started to take it personally—Its become so bad, I am considering Home Depot classes. My family all assures me that “I can’t, and I should trust them on this and not strangers who don’t know me” but at least I can count on myself to show up even if screw up.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks, Katybeth…staying home tomorrow to meet the carpenter who will put in new drywall and tub surround…

      I’m a believer in “getting a guy” (and by this, I mean someone who does it for a living, not necessarily male) to do things, especially if you’re not sure what you’re doing!

      Wendy

Leave a Reply

