Little Wendy Pie-Maker…

On Friday, I was home waiting for the carpenter to come to finish installing the new drywall and tub surround in the bathroom.  I decided that since it was our Thanksgiving weekend, that I would make pies for the occasion.  The first step was the pumpkin…I went out the the garden and chose the smallest one (the only one that would fit into the microwave)…it was about 10″ tall and 8″ in diameter.

The Pumpkin...

I put it into the microwave to soften it up so I could cut it in half and scoop out the seeds…then I put it in the oven and baked it.

Cooked pumpkin...

The carpenters commented on the wonderful smell…I told them I was making pumpkin pie from scratch, and they were suitably impressed.  I also got a couple of bags each of blueberries (from our bushes) and blackberries (picked in my secret patch on the West Side) out of the freezer.  I scooped the meat out of the pumpkin…four cups of fresh pumpkin!

Unfortunately, the carpenters took about four hours to finish the bathroom…procrastination kicked in…I didn’t think it would be a good idea to make piecrust near where so much drywall dust was flying around, so I decided to wait until Saturday to make the actual pies.  I had also promised to make “West Side Wendy’s Brownies” for a reunion of my old call center workers on Saturday night.

The bathroom looked 100 times better when they were done (and they cleaned up pretty well after themselves too!).

New shower stall...yay!

Saturday morning, I got up bright and early.  After a quick breakfast, I started baking right away.  The brownies were first…two pans of deliciousness which everyone who tastes them raves about.

Brownies...yummy!

Then I started the pies.  I found a recipe in Better Homes and Gardens cookbook for a pumpkin pie that used 16 oz. of pumpkin (it said it made one single crust pie)…I figured that if I doubled it, that would use all of my four cups of pumpkin, and I’d have two pies.  Wrong!  I ended up with enough filling for three big pies and one small pie!

Pumpkin pie...

 

There were also way more berries than I thought…once I had them in the bowls with the sugar and flour, I realized I’d overestimated in taking out two bags of each kind.

Blackberry pie before top crust put on...

Blueberry/Blackberry pie before top crust...

I sent Jim to the Co-Op for more lard.  Another recipe of piecrust was necessary.

Finished blueberry pie...

Finished blackberry pie...yes, that's my poor rendition of blackberries carved in the top...

Finished blueberry/blackberry pie...those are two "B"'s in the top...

So, after eight hours of baking, I ended up with two pans of brownies and eight pies: four pumpkin, two blueberry, one blackberry, and one blueberry/blackberry.  We’ll take a blueberry one to Jim’s mom’s today for our combo Thanksgiving/Devin’s birthday dinner (he turned 17 on October 4th).  On Monday, we’ll have the other blueberry one and a pumpkin one for our own Thanksgiving dinner with Kaylee, Scott and Elise.

Jim and I had fun at the reunion last night.  Not many people made it because of the holiday weekend, but the food was great (anybody who knows me knows how much I love to eat!).  It was nice to see my old co-workers, many of whom I hadn’t seen for a year.  We talked about having another gathering in February…looking forward to it!

28 Comments

Filed under cooking, family, food

28 responses to “Little Wendy Pie-Maker…

  1. You are so clever, and so impressive, Wendy! All looks fabulously delicious – yum!
    Sunshine xx

  2. Those pies are fabulous! I And your pumpkin! I am so impressed!

    I know they will be as delicious as they look!

    Happy Thanksgiving ♥

    Kb

  3. Happy Thanksgiving! And congratulations on the new bathroom!

    Those pies look fantastic–I like the whimsical carvings. Speaking of carvings, where is your jack o lantern?

    • Thanks, Tom. Happy (early) Thanksgiving to you too…haven’t carved the Jack O’Lanterns yet…we’ve still got five more BIG pumpkins in the garden…the kids have told me they’ll each be carving their own…

      Wendy

  4. I’ll be right up.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. smalltownbiglife

    Delicious! Times with family and friends…that is life to me, and food is central to it. I am thankful on your Thanksgiving for a family with a decent metabolism because we LOVE to eat! Blessings and great post as always.

  6. How long did you put the pumpkin in the microwave for? I’m going to try it with my spaghetti squash – I always have trouble cutting them in half.

    • It really depends on how big your squash is…try five minutes first (poking small holes in the skin with a knife to let air escape). If it’s still not soft enough, keep cooking in three-minute sessions until you can cut it. Hope this helps!

      Wendy

  7. So glad your bathroom is fixed! You are a pie-making mama, Wendy! Beautiful! I’m coming next year!

  8. I am so so so impressed. Really. Wow. Sometimes it makes me sad that my kids will not remember their childhood as fondly because I don’t cook. There is no mom cooking for them to come home to…

  9. Very impressive Wendy!! I’m not a baker myself and am envious of all you accomplished ones out there. Loved the berry pies without the crust – mouth-watering 🙂 Happy feasting!!

  10. Need to know…how long did it take you to soften the pumpkin that size in the microwave? Thanks.

  11. When I will I learn not to come and read your blog when I’m hungry? You are a wonder!

  12. Oh, wow, you are SO motivated! I hope I can be a master pie maker someday! I have much to learn, especially now that I have a daughter and will probably be hosting Thanksgiving from time to time.

    Looking at these make my mouth water … and I’ve been avoiding gluten for a few months now. See what you did ;)!

    • Sorry, Juliana…I never met a fruit pie I didn’t like (except cream pies…lactose-intolerant!)…I only learned to make good piecrust a couple of months ago…easy with the recipe I’ve got! Hugs, Wendy

  13. Wonderful post, Wendy. I enjoyed every sensory tidbit, except taste! (:( I’ll check my BH&G for the lard pastry recipe. If I don’t have it in my cookbook, I’m coming back begging for your recipe! My m-in-law makes the BEST piecrust ever which has daunted my attempts for 25+ years, yet she was just talking about how she had never tried lard. I’ll see what I can do.

    Love, Nancy

Leave a Reply

