Taking Stock…Post #150…

My first post on Herding Cats in Hammond River was March 23, 2010…boy, if I knew then what I know now…

Eight months (and a bit) later, I am composing my 150th post.  I have 18 categories, and 635 tags…let’s just say I know a little about a lot of things!  I have just over 13,300 hits on my blog, and just passed 2000 comments (thank you to everyone who gives me feedback…it’s almost as good as cash, but not quite!).  I don’t have as many e-mail subscriptions as I’d like, so if you haven’t subscribed, please hit the button under my photo that says “Sign me up!” If you enjoy my blog, please tell your friends about it.  I have made awesome connections with a couple of dozen talented writers around the world…many of them are on my Blogroll (He Said/She Said at the right side).  Sadly, some have come and gone, and others aren’t around as much as I’d like them to be, but I guess you have to move with the flow of life.

In the interest of quality control, I would like your help in deciding which way I should go from here…to this end, I’d be eternally grateful if you would do the following poll (check as many boxes as you like):

Thank you for your help…I look forward to your continued visits to Hammond River!

34 Comments

Filed under blogging, friends

34 responses to “Taking Stock…Post #150…

  1. I love your blog, Wendy! And the way it is makes it what it is. Keep herding…
    I’m wondering what you would do differently if you were to start your blog now – ie what you mean by if you knew then what you know now?
    Congratulations on 150 posts – I’m so glad to have connected with you!
    Warm hugs xx

    • Thank you, Sunshine…and I’m so happy to have found you!

      What I meant was that my original purpose in doing the blog has almost completely disappeared, and it’s morphed into something else entirely, which may be a good thing…

      I also had no idea what a time commitment blogging is (writing and reading)…probably a good thing I can set my own schedule!

      Hugs,
      Wendy

      • So, what was your original purpose in doing the blog?

      • Originally, I wanted to move towards becoming more self-sufficient, and not buy so much stuff. Being the huge procrastinator that I am, I thought that having a blog to chronicle the process would help. Eight months later, I find that I have some vegetables in the freezer, but I’m nowhere close to where I hoped to be in terms of growing/cooking more of our own food. We still have “convenience food” in the freezer, simply because of our busy schedules…sigh! Oh, well…I’m having fun anyway! Hugs, Wendy

  2. Wendy,
    Congrats!! Personally, I had no idea when I started blogging that the best part would be meeting so many wonderful people. Thank you for including me in your blogging world and I look forward to the next 150 posts!

    Amy

  3. planejaner

    keep up the good work…what I like is that I never know what you’ll come up with each time you post…
    I generally don’t care for blogs with one idea/theme/topic, over anad over and over.

    you, my friend, are the sauce.
    jane

  4. Sounds like you have come along way! Its always a challenge to find the right mix of content. My preference tends towards personal stories, or ideas that make me think. I enjoy ordinary humor. I don’t think of myself as a blogger but as a “reader,” when I drop in on other blogs I’m not all that interested in reading about information specific to bloggers. . .Short posts work best for me or I tend to skim and then worry if I am missing the best part–too much computer times has impacted my ability to focus I guess. Love the pictures of kids and dogs–your pies were amazing.

  5. Congrats on post #150…woohoo…and I don’t think you should change a thing. I love you just the way you are. Hugs, Diane

  6. Wooow! Congratulations on 150 posts! That’s dedication, my friend…I look forward to 150 more. And think you should keep writing about everything that YOU want to write about. It’s always interesting!

  7. Congrats on 150, Wendy. When I can find a bit of surfing time, I love stopping in.

    Not sure at what post I started visiting, so I’m not sure what I missed. I’d be interested in hearing more about the day-to-day life at the bookstore, though. That seems like a really unique niche, especially in this day and age.

    And life in Canada, since I’m south of the border. Sort of odd how many Canadian bloggers I follow. You people know your way around a keyboard.

    Thanks for supporting my writing, too. I appreciate you reading the blog and sharing comments.

    Keep it up!

    Take care,

    Chase

    • Thanks, Chase…I found you when you were Freshly Pressed, in August, I think…there are five months of archives for you to peruse before that (in all your free time…ha!). I’m afraid day-to-day life at the bookstore isn’t very interesting…we depend heavily on the Internet for survival in a city where a huge part of the population has literacy issues. Let’s just say I have a lot of time to write my blog, and read the 25 or 30 other bloggers I follow… I talk about living in Canada a fair amount in posts tagged “memories” and of course, any with Canadian place names. I’m so happy I discovered your blog (thanks, Freshly Pressed editor!)…you and Kickass Wife are awesome parents, and I truly love reading about your daily lives! You are an amazing, wet-your-pants-funny writer…I know I’ll see your name on the cover of a book some day soon (and I’ll be able to say, “I knew that guy when he was ‘just a blogger’!”). Thanks for taking the time to read my blog! Wendy

  8. Even your list of options is funny! Hope you keep at it Wendy!

  9. Wow…150 posts?! That is something to celebrate. I always look forward to reading what you have to say. Best wishes for 150+ more…

  10. Congratulations on all of those amazing statistics!! Very Well Deserved 🙂 I checked mine yesterday and well…lets just say I’m not about to check them again any time soon!!

    I was all set to tick the first option…which is what I think of your blog 🙂 But as I scrolled down…I realized I would love to see more recipes, more garden, more childhood memories and definitely more pics of Jake and Elise 😀 So I’m just going to tick them all!

    Most of all, I just want you to keep posting so I can keep reading…there!

    Happy 150th Wendy 🙂

    Hugs, H.

    • Thanks, Harsha…I’m so happy to have found you through Maura! Don’t worry about your stats…just keep visiting blogs you like, and commenting, and the people will come to you! There’s not a bad writer in my Blogroll, and they’re all really nice…check them out! Thanks for being one of my most enthusiastic readers! Hugs, Wendy

  11. Looks like your readers are full of ideas about what they’d like to see!

    I’d like to hear more about the area you live in – what it looks like (photos please!), what the people are like, any funny stories about your town/city.

    Also like hearing about your bookstore. Everything from interesting books you’ve found, to who your customers are. Any strange requests? How do you go about sourcing rare books?

  12. Hippie Cahier

    Augh. This was tough. I picked perfect just the way you are, but I do love pictures of babies and dogs. Congratulations on continued success. Write on….

  13. Yay! I’ve subscribed, and I’ve voted that you’re perfect. And now, I’m going to go subscribe to the rest of my blogroll. Happy Day, Wendy!

  14. Congratulations! I like the idea of a poll. Keep doing what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

